We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Apartment in Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment in Douglas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Myself and my twelve year old son have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Isle of Man. We stayed in the Arrandale Apartments for a week. It suited us perfectly, it was spacious with a fully fitted kitchen which even came with a dishwasher and a washing machine. There was a sofa bed in the lounge which my son slept on along with a cd player, tv and dvd player, everything you could possibly want. They were situated off the promenade and up a hill which was fine for us but could be awkward for someone with mobility difficulties. I would thoroughly recommend the apartments for families and couples. Rose was also very friendly and accomodating, as we arrived before check in time she had no problem with letting us have the apartment earlier than normal. We will definitely be booking there for our next trip to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens in Hutchinson Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    87
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I made a reservation for the room last minute and asked for a double en-suite. Got a great room with a great view. after my 4th night I booked again for another 4 nights and they were happy to move me to another room which was bigger and had a much better view. Staff were friendly and easy to approach. Breakfast was great and staff serving were fab. Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are lovely and get a good deal of light during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Arrandale Apartments, just a few doors up Hutchinson Square from Arrandale House, for five nights. Our ground floor apartment offered value-for-money, pleasant self-catering accommodation. Bathroom and cooking facilities were good. There was plenty of space in the combined living room/kitchen. We found the location convenient, although the short but relatively steep uphill stretch from the seafront to the apartments may be less comfortable for a person with mobility difficulties. Buses are available, however. There is a fine supermarket for self-catering about a quarter hour's walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't know where to start but here goes, left at reception for 20mins phoning a number linked to other apartments block presumably that just rang out, Then eventually got into room and the place was filthy, bed unmade, wet towels on the floor, rubbish everywhere and I won't even begin to do scribe the toilet. This BTW was 1600hrs not first thing in the morning. When I went to moan to my colleague he topped it by saying some guy was lying in his bed with his bum pointing to the moon. Tried to get another hotel but some sort of rally event on so had to grin and bear it. Breakfast was ok, the owner was nice enough but it's up a great big hill from the sea and the main part of town so all in all the B&B part of the operation should be avoided at all costs. Worse place I have stayed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank christolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We were disconcerted to read this review and are currently trying to trace the guest so we can investigate the circumstances relating to the comments made. If this reviewer wishes to contact us direct, we would be delighted to hear from him/her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Arrandale hotel for 3 nights.

Staff are considerate and friendly at all times; not only during my stay but after I left the hotel.
I left my camera at the hotel room. Then, staff send email and gave me a phone call to let me know it at once.
Unfortunately, when I noticed the email, I had already left Douglas for Liverpool.
Therefore, I asked her to send it back after I came back home.
She gladly consented to my request and, thanks to her, my camera arrived safely.

The room was clean and I could have strong wifi access.
Moreover, the restaurant inside the hotel (But not Arrandale) provided me with excellent dinner.

The hotel is located within 10 minutes walk from the city centre. It means it is conveniently placed.
On the way to the city centre, I could enjoy lovely landscape of Douglas.

Overall, I could have a wonderful experience in this hotel and superb service of staff made it special more.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was clean and a nice size. The breakfast choice was good. The location is a little away from the seafront, but it is only a few minutes walk down the hill to get there. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and happy to help book a taxi or provide details on how to get to a tourist attraction. A great base to explore the Isle of Man. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in the Arrandale for a week while we were holidaying in the IoM. We chose it mainly because of the reviews and they weren't wrong. Good points: very clean, breakfasts were excellent with good quality food well cooked, staff very friendly and helpful, close enough to sea front to walk (but all uphill coming back), evening meal available if required without booking, great power shower, friendly bar and place to sit when you're not in room. The poached eggs at breakfast are perfect and I couldn't resist having them most mornings. Give the porridge a go at least once as it was also very good. Rose and Theo are lovely and friendly - we were given a guide book on check in which was indispensable, and The was a mine of information about the island.

Room Tip: Nothing to do with rooms but some good advice - if you don't have a car on the island go for a 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing