We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would return here anytime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our stay at The Ashton was our first experience with Manx hospitality and we really, really enjoyed it. The rooms are tidy, clean and the staff looks after it every day. We had a lot of requests and either the owner or the staff was helpfull and very friendly at any time and at any silly question we had. Hutchinson Square is a very nice, friendly and silent address in the hills above Douglas Promenades only 10-15 minutes of walking slowly to city centre. The only reason why I cannot give the 5 points is the fact that - due to the historically narrow staircases - the rooms has to climbed. Therefore it's not really made for people with leg problems. On the other hand you can get a good breakfast at reasonable prices at the Arrandale only a few steps down the street... and even the coffee is better there than in some other B&Bs around - as we were told by friends - and we can only confirm. Go there, try yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Arrandale House & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The self-catering apartment we stayed in was clean, welcoming, and very comfortable. Would be excellent for a small family and was a lovely home-from-home for us. The staff we met were extremely pleasant and helpful, service was great and we would definitely recommend the Arrandale. It is a bit of a walk to the main prom, and is all uphill coming home which might be difficult for elderly guests, but there are local taxis which help. I would definitely stay here again!
Thank you to Rose and all the other staff for a gracious welcome, and for all your help in the lead up to our holiday.

Room Tip: the apartment where we stayed had a twin room and a sofa bed in the living room which might not suit...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodyblue393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Like others we booked based on reviews. It's not too bad - but the rooms are shabby and the breakfast only average. However I don't like providing a negative review, so on the plus side the shower in the room was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Depends on your budget - but next time I'll spend a wee bit more and go elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our week at Arrandale was great. Owners Theo and Rose were most welcoming. Food was excellent and abundant. Room was comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. En-suite with large shower and lovely soft towels.View from windows right over the bay to the harbour and beyond. Shops and attractions fairly easily accessable from hotel, though hilly, but this is the case with most hotels unless on the front.
Would recommend Arrandale as friendly and welcoming to anyone looking to visiting IOM.
Thank you Theo, Rose and Laura the friendly waitress.

Room Tip: Ask when biooking
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great Hotel located towards the back of town, bit of a walk from the centre but it’s all downhill in the morning.

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Amazing breakfasts with lots of choice to set you up for a day on the Isle of Man.

I had a room on the top floor which meant quite a climb up the stairs, but the reward was stunning views over Douglas bay and the capital.

The room was small and compact, but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was again small but very clean and well kept.

Positives:
Friendly staff
Good Food
Excellent views
Comfortable, quiet rooms


Neutrals
The room was quite small, but this was one of the cheapest rooms I could find in Douglas when booking so I wasn’t expecting anything massive.
The double bed was very comfy and spacious for one, but it would have been very cosy for two!

Negative (being picky here)
It is a bit of a way out of the town centre, and uphill of an evening (though you can get a bus to above the hotel and walk down)

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have the best views, but as there is no lift may not be great for everyone.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked this hotel (it's a B&B really) on the strength of tripadvisor reviews. How wrong most of them are, or the place is being judged against low standards. I can't fault the staff for service and enthusiasm (although they do get left to it at night and breakfast) and breakfast was ok but the room I had was just terrible. Perhaps the more you pay the better room you get, but even at £60 B&B there is no excuse for mouldy bathrooms, dated decor, amateurish diy and carpets that had not seen a vacuum cleaner in recent history. I couldn't wait to leave and I will never return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have just stayed in the Arrandale on my first visit to the Isle of Man, and will defiantly stay in the Arrandale again as the staff are very friendly and welcoming and the accommodation was superb and ideally located close to Douglas seafront and town, breakfast and evening meals were also excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $61 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing