We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here on business and the hotel is nice enough, the staff are nice, the bar is nice, the food is nice, the rooms are alright and the view is good.

The hotel is a little dated, but nice enough. The view over the sea is ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    235
    117
    45
    22
See reviews for
64
252
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DRIFFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Sea view rooms are not only brighter but they are bigger and if your lucky and get room 609 you are given a suite with larger lounge office and two televisions, one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. It's been so more relaxing having somewhere to sit and chill while having a morning brew. The shower over the bath is excellent and remains a constant temp, there is also a bidet, hairdryer, and a telephone in the bathroom.
The bed is 6ft wide and very comfy with silky cotton sheets and plenty of pillows. Just had breakfast and it was delicious hot and tasty, as buffet breakfasts go this one was better than most. The kitchen is open so you can see them cooking and it spotless.
I would stay here every time I am in the Isle of Man, and right now I am writing this review from my office /room with free wifi and gorgeous view.

Room Tip: 609 is lovely suite with rear bedroom and sunny sea view from lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed at The Empress one night room was nice but could do with painting , lovely views worth paying extra for the sea view . Room was warm and bed very comfy , room very clean with nice shower , towels provided but hair dryer old and not very good . The piano bar was nice but would have been nice to hear more of the piano player who kept disappearing for a drink . We had are evening meal in the new Manx Gourmet burger restaurant it was delicious and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of eating here we payed £9.95 for huge burger and two side very filling and tasty , and good price too. Had a lovely sleep and breakfast was excellent a huge choice we opted for a cooked breakfast with toast fresh made poached egg few mins wait for this and coffee all staff very polite and friendly .

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the sea view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manx1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

After visiting Family on the Island we always like to pop into he Empress for a quiet evening as it is the perfect place to unwind. The location is fabulous and the ambiance is charming. The bar area is spotless and the prices are reasonable. The staff are excellent and will go the extra mile to make your visit special. A special mention to Lukas for his attentiveness and good service. The food was excellent quality and value and the conservatory overlooks the beautiful Douglas Bay. Thank you and I will be returning on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallsend tyne&wear
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

two day trip to isle of man,sadly for a good friend of mine,s funeral..booked hotel in a hurry,and glad i picked the empress,,,beautiful foyer,nice clean rooms, buffet breakfast was excellent,,,the staff faultless,beer good,,,booked evening meal,which was cooked to perfection,and served professionally by well manered polite waiter,to which nothing was an issue,,all this for a two night stay for me and the wife,on the sea front in the middle of the prom for a total of £160,plus the evening meal of course....would not hessitate booking there again,or recommend anyone to use it,,all in all,a very nice place to stay .....many thanks to all management and staff,for making our stay an enjoyable one....geordie-sonjia fidler

Room Tip: check to see if rooms are seaview,or at the rear,,,we were at the rear and out all day ,so rear room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Sorry - but this hotel is truly weird - so many things not right. We paid £87.50/night for two of us for three nights, B&B. Our room was small - we had to get dressed by numbers! Bed too firm. Pillows hard and synthetic. We asked for feather pillows, but these have been discontinued "because of allergies". Swimming pool closed 2 years ago. No radio/alarm clock in our room. Minimal TV/radio stations, not even all the Freeview channels. No Radio 4. No chest of drawers. Undersized bath. Only horrid "wired-to-the-wall" toiletries.

Papers (OK, they have to be delivered by boat from the mainland) never in our rooms until after 10 am, an hour or so after we could have bought one at a nearby shop. Foreign breakfast staff had no idea what a pepper-mill was - eventually one was found - it probably belonged to the chef!

I did (politely) ask the manager about all this, but apart from an offer of a room upgrade, which didn't seem worth it, there was nothing in the way of a cash rebate.

stay at the Sefton or Palace instead.......

Dr Trevor White & Mrs Maureen White..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Over the past 6 months my wife has stayed at the hotel on six separate occasions, most recently for three weeks, I joined her for the last two. We were on the IoM to participate in the Island of Culture events. Throughout the stay we had long days and evenings and worked very hard. We were looked after fantastically. My wife stayed in several different rooms including the Penthouse Suite and decor was excellent in all of them. The catering was as good as any I have experienced in similar priced hotels around the world. What differentiated this experience for me personally though was the service. Every single member of the staff at this hotel went out of their way to help us, nothing was too much trouble and there was a real sense of them understanding just how hard we were working and how much support we needed; the care and kindness they offered my wife was exemplary and I cannot thank them enough.

Room Tip: See facing rooms get snapped up quickly so if you are thinking of staying and want the sea breeze in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjfooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 17 in Douglas
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing