We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Hotel”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We booked the Empress for a four day break and found it great value for money. The room although small was spotless and the breakfast very enjoyable. We dined in the Hotel for the four nights we were there and found the staff very friendly and helpful and the evening meals very acceptable. The swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus which we made the most off. On the whole I would reccomend this Hotel to my friends and family and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maharajah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 667 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2008

I was booked into this hotel for one night for a business trip.
I was in a single romm.
Tje room was small and very warm but it had every thing I needed. Bath, shower, widescreen TV, computer connestion, trouser press and tea and coffee. Everything was at your finger tips.
The breakfast was help yourself and it was excellant.
The swimming pool is very small and when I used the facilities the steam room was off but the sauna was on.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank thedoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Normally I stay in the Claremont when working in Douglas which apart from needing a bit of a revamp is ok. Due to lack of availability I had to move to the Empress for a week.

Upon arrival it seemed ok apart from the multitude of steps in the bar area. Met up with some colleagues who'd been there over the weekend and was told about the breakfast.

Went down on the first morning to sample it for myself, it's a buffet style which basically means everything is kept warm for hours. Was very surprised with the sausages they where both dry on the outside, slimy on the inside and lacking and flavor.
Also avoid the Oriental Buffet this is best described as slops.

The only other advice is don't book a sea front room unless you want their blue spotlights shinning through your windows all night

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sharriso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Used this seafront hotel as a base for attending son's birthday party; the Empress has a great location but this might be affected by the apartment block being built next door.
Older style hotel, adequate room, currently with seaview but not for much longer!!
Foyer and bar are very smart but the breakfast restaurant is very strange, it is an oriental buffet restaurant by night. The glass fronted lounge is great to watch the weather and the sea.
Small swimming pool which did not look inviting.
Only niggle was the lack of staff, it seemed that everyone multi-tasked and it showed in the cleanlyness of the crockery etc. in the breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Really nice interior downstairs, room was a disappointment, It was our honeymoon and the sea facing room we booked that was pictured on the website was not the room we got, it was tiny, freezing and had a dirty bath. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast staff!
would stay again but wasnt great

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joolyliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

A comfortable Hotel with decent service. Some building work going on next door, but not disturbed by this during our stay.
The Asian Banquet is well worth a go, £15 a head and all you can eat, very tasty.

Make sure you book your room via the Hotels own website, £10 per night cheaper than other websites, and £30 cheaper than turning up on the door or telephone booking !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshDragon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

we got to our hotel-the Empress hotel with high spirits and were at first very impressed by the main lounge area, it was comfertable and clean. however when we got to our rooms we were very dissapointed. the rooms were very small even though it was a double. no minibar either. the bathroom was nice however and the beds were comfortable. the pool was not to our liking at all! it was small, with no windows, so that it felt like we were in a dungeon! it smelt of sewage to. they do have a gym, but nothing works-they obviously dont care as long as they can say in brochures that they have a gym. and the restaurants were exessivly expencive. there was four of us and in one of them it was £15 a person! we couldnt afford that every night! however we did go in there the first night and it was lovely. the breakfast caused one person in our family to have food poisoning-a sausage being the culprit, and according to this person, there was a red streak running through the middle! all of this was not made any better by the dreadfull weather aven though we would not have gone on the beach there anyway as all you could see was piles of seaweed! the isle of man is a lovely place but dont go to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank the_holiday_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $89 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an a la carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing