We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

HQ Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Part of Mereside Guesthouse
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The staff and manager in particular are very friendly and welcoming. Location is very central and close to the seafront.
Breakfast is delicious with buffet hot options as well as cereals, teas, coffee, yoghurt, fruit etc In addition theres a breakfast menu with fish and pancake options you can order from the kitchen. A real treat.
Rooms are lovely and newly refurbished. A lot more modern than the bar downstairs.
Overall a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    12
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“steak nights fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Steaks for two and a bottle of plonk for 25 quid in Douglas was outstanding value. We also dined off the "normal" menu another night and all four of us were really impressed with the food and the friendly service Good chef and good prices. The rest of the Island is overpriced!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshDave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Bad food”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was the first into the HQ bar on a wet and windy Tuesday afternoon, and had a drink and a perusal of the menu while waiting for service to begin. I wish I hadn't bothered. I ordered the special, steak and ale pie with chips. What I got was a suspiciously uniform slice (as in it didn't look in any way hand made and may have come from a packet, although I can't comment on whether that's true) and some floppy burned chips. Whether I got the leftovers from the lunch rush, I don't know, but it was a terrible meal.

It was steak night on the night I was there, and perhaps I should've had steak, but specials are usually recommended in these sorts of places.

By the time I left, there were 2 more customers hanging around, and the only member of staff on show was also loudly checking in customers for the Mereside and Rosslyn boarding houses, so they were in for a long wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chips to die for. . .”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Popped in on spec for a quick lunchtime bite. No one else there but warmly welcomed by Angela. Prawn sandwiches with chips to die for. Speedy service and great crack from Angela (but then, like Ross Noble, she is from Cramlington. . .).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It isn't the most obvious place, part of a B&B up a side street north of the main town. It was quite empty on a Monday evening at 8:30pm, but the steak was good, as was the service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KFjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HQ Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to HQ Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing