We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food in quite a while..”

Jaks Bar & Steak House
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: •WIFI Enabled free of charge for all customers.•Open 7 Days a week (Mon-Thurs 11am to midnight, Fri & Sat 11am to 1am, Sun 12 noon to midnight).•Located next to the main shopping street (and Strand Shopping Centre)•Established in 1990 and still under the same owners - Mr Andrew Gibbs & Mr Keith Bernard.•Ample parking available on main promenade.•Access to bus services, horse tram services, and taxi rank, with stops directly outside the front door.•We accept all major credit/debit cards and luncheon vouchers.•Cash machine in the main bar.•Disabled toilet facilities.•Number 1 for football on the island - all live sports shown.•FREE text message service delivering all live football screenings at Jaks, with exclusive member offers.•One of the largest selection of draught beers on the island.•Doubles bar all day.•Music System with best of classic dance/R&B at weekends and classic music during the week Main Bar•Upstairs main bar.•Doubles bar all day.•One of the largest selections of draught beers on the island:-•Carling, Carling Extra Cold, Peroni, Heineken Export, Stella Artois Export, Coors Light, John Smiths Greene King Bitter, Okell's REAL ALE Bitter, Strongbow Cider, Guinness & Guinness Extra Cold, all on draught!•Number 1 for football on the island - all live sports shown!•New For This Season SKY SPORTS HD on every screen!•2 FULL HD Big Screens (one 10ft - Largest on the Island!!)•4x50" Full HD Digital Plasma Screens.•4x42" Full HD Digital Plasma Screens.•1x10ft Full HD Wide Screen (largest on the Island!).•3x20" LCD Screens with live football results.•6x LCD Bar Pump screens (exclusive to the Island!)•FREE text message service (introduced to the Island by Jaks Bar in August 2002) delivering all live football screenings at Jaks, with exclusive promotions and drinks promos to all members!•The most up-to-date satellite system in the Island. We proudly boast that we can show up to 7 different football matches at the same time!•Exclusive 'Split Sound Technology' that enables us to have commentary to 2 different football matches on at the same time!•Friendly, professional, fully-trained bar staff, delivering the quickest service on the Island!•Full Wine Menu•Cocktails Served all Day - Everyday•Shots and Shooter served all dayRestaurant•Newly refurbished (Bookings advisable) •Full Table Service•New Evening Menu•Sunday Lunch Specials•Pre booking advised to aviod disappointment•Fresh Chargrilled Steaks.
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best food in quite a while..”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

visited for a few drinks and a darts comp and ended up heading downstairs for food. i honestly dont think i have had a better steak than in jaks. we all ended up heading back again on our second nite for more of the same. apart from the excellent food the staff were very friendly and had a bit of banter with a table full of fellas who were probably a bit louder than the norm,lol

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    288
    122
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I ate here as part of a large group and were asked to pre order if possible which we did.

My prawn cocktail starter was ok but nothing to write home about. The "special" sauce was a bit too sharp for me and tasted like just a mix of salad cream and ketchup.

The Cajun tuna main promised much but seriously underwhelmed. I ordered rice with it which was piled ridiculously high and I only managed no more than a third of it. The Cajun tuna was bland, dry and frankly I got bored eating it and left nearly half. I would have liked it served rarer or given the choice. It needed a sauce or salsa to give it a boost.

One toilet for the whole restaurant is poor and the atmosphere in there isn't great, I'd rather be upstairs for lunch.

On the plus side most other meals seemed quite nice but the cheese board was very modest and lacked any imagination or quantity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ch9nem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good choice”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my wife went to Jacks last night and we really enjoyed it...again ! Yes we have been a couple of times before and this place does exactly what it says on the tin. Premises are clean, atmosphere is good service is pleasant, professional and not over the top and the food is genuinely fresh and well prepared.

Thank you and see you soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch. Childs portions are very big. Chicken sizzler was lovely and the tuna steak and steak pie were also very good. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Jaks is expanding upstairs soon so look forward to visiting the new restaurant facilities upstairs in March.
Good value and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent value food in the basement restaurant”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I popped in for a quick bite to eat as I was staying in Douglas overnight at the nearby Ellan Vannin hotel (which is excellent). There is a decent range of options on the menu and the food is of good quality and decent value. A good option if you are looking for something quick, relatively straightforward and good value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaks Bar & Steak House also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Jaks Bar & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing