We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value French Restaurant.”
Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
England
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Value French Restaurant.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We came here this week during the TT races, after a recommendation from a charming receptionist in our hotel.
We were not disappointed!
A shared starter of prawn cocktail with grrreat smoked salmon was followed by lemon sole and then ice cream (shared).
A litre of reasonable house carafe rose helped everything along!
Good, friendly service, a humming, packed room, good quality cooking and ingredients, lots of nostalgic French posters, walking distance along the sea front.
£78 for two.
Recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ducati50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    80
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Rolls Royce of Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Each time I eat in this restaurant the food gets better and better,great wines,fantastic puddings,the services is the best in the Isle of Man.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davemexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“High standards are certainly maintained”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Once again on visiting the Island for the TT racing we were able to enjoy the excellent food served at this restaurant. The service by the staff could not be faulted despite the restaurant being very popular and busy. Already looking forward to next year when we will return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I ate here twice last week when I was there for the TT, I found the staff to be very friendly and attentive.

The food was amazing. I had the onion soup on the first visit and it definitely lived up to its reputation. I tried the mussels on the second visit and fell in love with the bacon bits and blue cheese sauce.

Steak was very tender and cooked perfectly, sides were really good too especially the spinach.

The restaurant was aptly decorated giving an authentic French feel and the candle light gave a nice romantic ambiance.

I will definitely eat here again on my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit over-rated”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Service was very good and staff friendly. Wine selection was OK. My wife had the onion soup which was delicious whilst I had the home smoked trout special which was bland. We both had steaks which were OK but nothing out of the ordinary. Desserts were nice, I had the chocolate mousse and my wife had the strawberry shortbread. I'm afraid to say we have had better in Paris and most areas of France for less.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sprayvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing