We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and service.”
Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a lovely meal in L'Experience whilst on holiday in the Isle of Man, it came highly recommended from a local and he wasn't wrong. The food was delicious, the service and staff were brilliant, the restaurant decor is very authentic. The only negative was the price, over priced for what we had, also having to pay extra to have some vegetables with our meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    79
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, service and food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ended up at this restaurant because it was one of the only ones that was open on a Monday, and what a find it was. Looks very unassuming from the outside but it's full of character internally. The food was divine and the service was very good. It was quite expensive but well worth the money. Will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A romantic candle lit supper”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As you enter the door of L'Experience, the sight of red gingham tablecloths on a blue Blaise base cloth, an overhead pergola of ivy leaves and walls decorated with an abundance French language posters...it's very French!
We dined at 8:00pm the lighting is set low and all the tables had a candle wine bottle flickering, the ambiance was terrific. Even more so, when the accordionist stared playing. Now this restaurant is a few steps higher than 'Allo, Allo' ,but I was already expecting the Gendarme officer to enter the door saying 'good moaning'.
The food was exquisite, I ordered the French Onion soup, which contained a blend of Gruyere and Manx cheese, melted and with a crusted topping. Simply the best I have ever tasted. The Filet steak au poivre, was a generous portion and cooked to perfection, the highest quality of tender steak. The wine list is predominantly French...naturally!
Saturday evening and this restaurant was full, you will definitely need to make a reservation. The staff were efficient, polite and friendly, the dining room is small and you could just sense that everyone was having a good time. We certainly did.
When the bill comes it's not unexpected that the total, is a few pounds higher than normal. This restaurant is on my list of top eating experiences...the name is therefore very apt!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorGHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely food with a special vegetarian menu which was wonderful for one of our party. Very busy so book to ensure a seat. Nice meal with good choice. Only thing is don't expect quick service they are very very slow with an enormous delay between courses - bit like being in France really!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LandPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Classy food, steak melts in your mouth”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my chef friend's favorite restaurant in the Isle of Man, and I was not disappointed. The French onion soup is a must have, as their use of Manx cheese is special and delicious. The various beef options are all amazing. Professional service with a Manx smile. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing