We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy food, steak melts in your mouth”
Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Classy food, steak melts in your mouth”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my chef friend's favorite restaurant in the Isle of Man, and I was not disappointed. The French onion soup is a must have, as their use of Manx cheese is special and delicious. The various beef options are all amazing. Professional service with a Manx smile. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    79
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The food here is wonderful, and fairly priced. Lovely local foods. The only downside was a very slow service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaz128blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visit the island every year for the Manx and try and visit l'experience at least twice during our visit. The restaurant always delivers fantastic service and sublime food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little tired but good quality food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant during the Manx GP week and were hoping for a great evening. Whilst the decor was disappointing and somewhat prosaic, the cooking was first rate and not unreasonably priced. We had the Sirloin steak and the French onion soup which were both well presented and flavoursome. The choice of food was a little disappointing and some items on the restaurant website were not available. However the waitresses were attentive and helpful and overall we felt the experience worthy of a "very good".q

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lovely place! The service was top class! Friendly and welcoming staff made me feel at home. I couldn't really decide between two of the starters, Carpaccio or Prawn Coctail, so I was offered half a portion of each. That say's a lot about this restaurant and the staff! The place was full and very busy, so I was lucky to get a table, but they still gave me full attention.
Also the main course, Fillet au Poivre, and the dessert were perfect. If you're on the Isle of Man this is the place for a great evening!
Peter from Sweden

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing