We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, great service , great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service , great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

On a short 2 night trip my wife and i had the pleasure to eat here on our last night . We really did save the best to last . Actually first impressions would put you off , from outside it looks quite shabby and run down . Please dont let this put you off or you will miss out on a lovely meal with great atmosphere and pleasant and helpful staff Nice wine list with good value house wines and some nice special occasion bottles All the food is great, our starters were a prawn /lobster cocktail and a smoked salmon souffle , really really good , as much bread as you want just keep asking , Just the right wait for the main courses , both steaks and both cooked to perfection. Nice selection of veg ,potato side dishes to choose from. After this we had a pleasant break listening to a man playing an accordian which all added to the atmosphere. There was no rush or pressure to order desserts and eventually from a nice selection we both opted for the cheese selection which again was first class

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    75
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went here with friends and really enjoyed a lovely meal with great atmosphere. Staff very accommodating. Would recommend without reservation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,309 helpful votes
“Wonderful five star food and service. Très Bon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

On arrival, I was welcomed and shown to my table, the service was friendly and the staff were happy to explain anything on the menu. The restaurant has quite a quirky style of decor (but in a nice way) and is probably the closest you can get to being in France without leaving the Isle of Man, even the signs are in French. The food was also really good. I had the pate stuffed garlic mushrooms for starters and Scallops thermidor for main and both were cooked just right. I will definitely visit again next time I visit the Isle of Man

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very coeliac friendly. Coeliac waitress very helpful and the mushrooms garlic special was fab. Steak in peppercorn sauce was delicious! Went out of their way to make sure my meal was gf with gf garlic bread!! Lovely My only complaint -bit noisy-. All in all a lovely restaurant and fab food A**

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I find its always a good sign when a French restaurant sticks to the classics and offers Ricard in its aperitifs.
Wine was reasonable money for good quality.
Onion soup and petit cassoulet were our tables favourites starters followed by the steak, moulles and scallop thermidor( a new on us but we'll done).
Lido (?) the softly spoken French waiter/maitre'd was the star though and for a mixed table of 7 we all left feeling very well looked after indeed. Nothing too much trouble, allergies and special combinations accommodated with an easy smile - service as it should be from time when it was the norm - thank you.
Our 5 year old niece was part of the party, she was part of the conversation and loved the medium rare filet prepared by chef for her. There was giggling and movement around the table - we ate at at 7 and left at 930. Apparently another table complained at the noise and disruption - I apologise if we spoiled someone else's enjoyment of this great spot however if we had the taken the ferry east to the continent rather than west to Isle of Man I'm not so sure there would be need for such sensitivity...have we really created a segregated society where children are to be kept in the anonymous international food chains whilst the "good" places are the sole domain of the grown ups?
Enough social commentary, great restaurant if you have the chance go and grab a taste of Montmatre in Douglas (particularly if staying at the Regency given its just a few doors down)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing