We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful five star food and service. Très Bon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
“Wonderful five star food and service. Très Bon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

On arrival, I was welcomed and shown to my table, the service was friendly and the staff were happy to explain anything on the menu. The restaurant has quite a quirky style of decor (but in a nice way) and is probably the closest you can get to being in France without leaving the Isle of Man, even the signs are in French. The food was also really good. I had the pate stuffed garlic mushrooms for starters and Scallops thermidor for main and both were cooked just right. I will definitely visit again next time I visit the Isle of Man

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    73
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very coeliac friendly. Coeliac waitress very helpful and the mushrooms garlic special was fab. Steak in peppercorn sauce was delicious! Went out of their way to make sure my meal was gf with gf garlic bread!! Lovely My only complaint -bit noisy-. All in all a lovely restaurant and fab food A**

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I find its always a good sign when a French restaurant sticks to the classics and offers Ricard in its aperitifs.
Wine was reasonable money for good quality.
Onion soup and petit cassoulet were our tables favourites starters followed by the steak, moulles and scallop thermidor( a new on us but we'll done).
Lido (?) the softly spoken French waiter/maitre'd was the star though and for a mixed table of 7 we all left feeling very well looked after indeed. Nothing too much trouble, allergies and special combinations accommodated with an easy smile - service as it should be from time when it was the norm - thank you.
Our 5 year old niece was part of the party, she was part of the conversation and loved the medium rare filet prepared by chef for her. There was giggling and movement around the table - we ate at at 7 and left at 930. Apparently another table complained at the noise and disruption - I apologise if we spoiled someone else's enjoyment of this great spot however if we had the taken the ferry east to the continent rather than west to Isle of Man I'm not so sure there would be need for such sensitivity...have we really created a segregated society where children are to be kept in the anonymous international food chains whilst the "good" places are the sole domain of the grown ups?
Enough social commentary, great restaurant if you have the chance go and grab a taste of Montmatre in Douglas (particularly if staying at the Regency given its just a few doors down)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal on a windswept,wet night. Very welcoming and idiosyncraticly decorated. The food had a slightly retro feel but no worse for that. The quality was excellent, the cooking precise. The house wine was very well chosen. I can honestly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Back again to L'Experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Once again I booked a table at L'Experience, it seems like we can't leave the Isle of Man with out dining here, it's our little treat to ourselves !

Food as per usual was excellent and when head chef Michael heard we were there, he come out to say hello and make sure we were happy with our food. This is one of the many reasons we keep going back. Overall this restaurant has excellent food, great service and 1ltr carafes of house wine . . Thanks again Michael and staff for another great night!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rathcoole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing