We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket”
Review of L'Experience

L'Experience
Ranked #10 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here at L'Expérience, we pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmospshere, accompanied by great locally sourced ingredients and an extensive wine list. A number of our dishes can be adapted in order to meet the needs of those with specific dietary requirements, meaning all our visitors can enjoy their time with us.
Port St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just the ticket”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I were out and about in douglas and made our way up the prom to this restaurant for lunch. Had heard a few good things about it and it sure did live up to its billing. The food is out of this world as is the wine. Service was great, it looks family run. It cost a few pounds but was well worth it. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neateats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    80
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DOUGLAS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice little place in Douglas”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food lovely, service with a smile, and spinach to die for!!!! Top place for wine but what else would you expect from a french restaurant...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaineodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as when the Quirks owned it.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Steak well overpriced,used to come with fries and creamed spinach,had to request the spinach.Lemon chiffon mousse in smaller glasses,and just under par as used to get when Tony and Jill owned the place.No hot crusty bread on arrival as used to get,and hostess not very friendly.I was really looking forward to this meal,but felt very let down,was also not as busy as used to,and no accordian player.Would not go back.Le Experience turned out to be a Bad Experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank testergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food in a dated environment. Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food here was amazingly good and surpassed all my expectations.
When I walked in it was like stepping back in time 20-30 years! However the welcome was warm, the ambiance passe but cozy and the menu interesting.
I had a smoked fish salad as a starter which was delicious. It was sufficiently generous without detracting from the main course. Flavours chosen worked well and it was nicely presented.
The steak was recommended by the co-owner who was a delight to talk to. It was succulent and tender. As good as anything I have had be it Texas, France, Japan or the UK. Isle of Man beef 'Rocks'.
The selection of wine and pricing is also reasonable.
From my one visit to this restaurant I have no hesitation in recommending it. Good food at a good price

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great food, great staff, great ambience, most uncomfortable chair i've ever sat on, never mind i wold still go back just for te French Onino soup however i would take a cushion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ejlloyd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Experience also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to L'Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing