We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea and promenade views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sea and promenade views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days in May 2011. We had a double and single room with sea and promenade views. Room, bathroom and towels were all clean and smelled fresh. Breakfast was Continental and there was more than enough. Hotel is in a central position. Close to ferry, easy and pleasant walk to town and dining places. Parking was available in front of the hotel. Staff were helpful. We recommend this hotel and would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisDayqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    120
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
72
194
49
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fethard, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Ellen Vannin is a great base when staying in Douglas, nicely located at the town centre end of the Promenade. It's quiet, with lovely sea views from the building. The staff are very friendly, chatty and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadderton Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a great hotel. It was like home from home. Rooms clean, spacious, lovely walk in shower, fresh towels every day, lovely breakfast and plenty of it and would recommend it to anyone without a doubt. The hotel is a credit to you all.

Mrs Prescott, Oldham

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

booked for tt taster .got to the hotel felt like l was a friend of the family[very friendly].room very clean . rooms cleaned every day fresh towels breakfast buffet style plenty of it very tasty would l go there again DEFINITELY

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLYCB1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

5 of us stayed for 4 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the owners, staff and facilities. We were looked after far beyond what is usual, the rooms are very nice and the breakfast was lovely.

I will stay here again on my next visit to the isle of man, and would reccomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

For a short break to celebrate my birthday, we were looking for a place on the Isle of Man that was central, welcoming and clean. The Ellan Vannin is well-situated, right on the Douglas seafront and close to the town's shops and the Ferry Terminal. The Pearce family made us feel very much at home and we would happily stay there again. Nowhere is difficult to reach on this lovely island (I like to be able to tour about in my own car) and we made good use of our four night stay.

Room Tip: I like an ensuite bath + sea view.No problem here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

A very well cared for and stylish hotel with a warm touch. Very comfortable, freshly decorated and clean. The breakfast was excellent and nthing was too much trouble.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MissTMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Property: Ellan Vannin Hotel
Address: 31 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin is situated in a superb position on Douglas sea front, facing the historic and picturesque Tower of Refuge. The majestic sweep of Douglas bay can be enjoyed from the sea view rooms and the very comfortable guest lounge. We are just minutes from the main shopping area of Douglas. five minutes from the ferry terminal and main bus station. The famous steam railway and electric tram are a short stroll. We provide home cooked evening meals, a free high speed internet connection and a great cooked breakfast including Manx kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellan Vannin Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing