We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of india

Taste of india
Ranked #22 of 153 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Indian on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Its hard to get really great food on the Isle of Man but as far as Indian food goes, this is definately the best. Good location on the promenade, with welcoming staff and decent surroundings. The menu is fairly standard but the food is well cooked especially the fish.

It doesn't stand comparison with some of the best mainland restaurants but you get a perfecly acceptable curry here and its a cut above the other Douglas curry houses.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    48
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Consistently the best Indian restaurant in Douglas. We use it, we recommend it, and everyone we've recommended the Taste of India too has always been full of praise for both the food and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inglewoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

...Indian restaurant on the Isle of Man in my opinion.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty curry in tasteful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

good curry and good beer in a tasteful surroundings - Taste of India does what it says on the tin!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk Michael
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Arrived at 12.50 for 1 pm.A warm welcome from the Staff and the owners as usual.Shown to our table that had a great view,crackers and polished cutlery.I was not sure of some of the dishes that were available but everything was explained.The meal arrived shortly after and was excellent.This was (in my opinion) the best Indian Meal that I have had on the IOM and in the UK.
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful Christmas Lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of india also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Taste of india? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing