We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Lunch.”
Review of Taste of india

Taste of india
Ranked #26 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Kirk Michael
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch.”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Arrived at 12.50 for 1 pm.A warm welcome from the Staff and the owners as usual.Shown to our table that had a great view,crackers and polished cutlery.I was not sure of some of the dishes that were available but everything was explained.The meal arrived shortly after and was excellent.This was (in my opinion) the best Indian Meal that I have had on the IOM and in the UK.
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful Christmas Lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best on the Isle of Man”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Being a local resident and a curry lover ever since birth!! I can surely say that after visiting almost all the curry houses on the island, Tatse of India is by far THE BEST. Excellent food, great service and value for money, I like to compare food n service n prices wherever I go & this place came out top marks all the time.
Being a local I can confidently say You can't get a better meal than a Taste of India. *****

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Asaph, North Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Whenever I travel on business, I always try to track down the best Indian in town using online reviews. As this place came highly recommended, I thought I'd give it a go. I went for the chicken achari on the waiter's recommendation- I asked him to pep it up a bit (I like a bit of heat). It was like eating chicken in a slightly spicy tomato sauce. Very average. Wont be going back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parkpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went with my partner and his father who was over from the uk on a friday night. The restaurant was busy and there was a really pleasant buzz about the place. Very friendly staff and the food was gorgeous. The waiting area is a little small but we were hardly there long enough for it to become an issue. The staff were polite and the manager recognised my partner from previous occassions. All in all it was a really nice evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GL84xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very tasty food.”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Interesting fusion of fish and curry, really tasty food, drink selection limited, bottled beers were expensive.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of india also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Taste of india? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing