We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly, run down, rude staff, no heating or electricity after 6pm!”
Review of Trevelyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trevelyan
Ranked #34 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Where to start. Oh my gosh this place is just awful, the worst place on earth, avoid at all costs!!
I stayed at the Trevelyan Hotel for 6 nights travelling with my university course from Liverpool with 30 other students. We travelled on the steam packet ferry (which made everyone very sick) from Liverpool to Douglas. We arrived at the hotel to find it very dingy, run down, smelly and un-inviting. There was so much mis-matched furniture and decore which looked like a blind person had been hired to do the interior design! It was so bad! The lift felt like you were trapped inside a prison so instead took the 5 flights of stairs and narrow corridors to find my room on the top floor. To be honest, I think I got the best room out of them all but it was freezing cold and the hotel decided to switch off all electricity and hot water after 6 or 7pm to probably try and save money. What an absolute joke, I paid £245 for 6 nights so expected to at least have electricity! My room was basic but with random dolphins and other creatures on the curtains! Very strange! Another student travelling with us was not so fortunate to have a nice room, he was brushing his teeth one morning and opened his window to find that the whole shale of glass fell out and smashed everywhere. Not only was this dangerous, later the hotel staff accused him of being a vandal. What a joke! There are no en-suite bathrooms and there were 6 shared showeres - 2 of which the hotel staff decided to lock so then there were only 4 showers. Also later on in the week, 2 showers decided to break which was just the icing on top of the cake! Toilets are also shared and not often cleaned.
The breakfast and dinner was just okay, small portions though and limited to one small, shot-sized glass of juice per person, per meal! The staff were very rude, especially the blonde haired waitress who swore at you for asking for anything and threw your dinner at you! There was also an older man who ran the bar during the evenings who was very scary and could not understand a word he was saying. My friend who I was sharing a room with had brought her own towel and one day when we returned to the room, found that the towel had been taken and when this was mentioned to the man who runs the bar and the hotel during the evenings, we were rudely given a moutful of abuse and told us he wasnt interested as he was going to bed!
Was extremely excited to be leaving the Trevelyan and heading home to Liverpool, will definately never visit this hotel again (if thats what you can call it) or visiting the Isle of Man ever again. Definately put me off and I hope this puts you off too!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HealsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015

Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan. Please note that if complaints are not aired at reception then they cannot be rectified and are thus invalid.
We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests. As the building is listed only certain adjustments can be made that meet the rules and regulations set by the Manx planning department.
All feedback is appreciated and acknowledged for future development.

Dear previous guest,
Please note that all rooms and appliances are registered and certified by the tourist board annually.
The building is newly renovated internally and is by no means comparable to the description you have given in your review.
The lift only fits 2 people at a time and the front door is manual. This is an old feature of the building which is maintained.
The heating in the building is regulated. Electricity is available at any time of the day and is certainly not capped off. Heating and electricity are a pre-requisite of any home stay business.
The window that was damaged was caused by a member of your party.
En-suite bath rooms are only available when booked with an en-suite, this is self explanatory. If your party did not book en-suite rooms that is clearly not our fault. There are 2 showers/toilets situated on each floor. Showers were never out of use. Showers are usable once the power switch (above shower door) is switched on. If you were unsure then you only need ask. All showers and toilets are cleaned whilst rooms are being serviced.
Furthermore the breakfast that is included with the accommodation is enough for one person considering that each guest has the option(s) of tea/coffee, unlimited toast, fresh fruit, x3 choices of different cereals, orange juice and a full English breakfast. We do not cater for evening meals anymore, however all staff are highly trained to serve and would never be rude to guests. We are kind and courteous to our guests at all times and take this seriously.
No older gentleman works at the hotel.
Regards,
Trevelyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

We decided to take a late break in the Isle of Man this summer and we booked a room at the Trevelyan Hotel. We paid £50 per night for 2 adults and 2 children that we found to be excellent value for money. We found the staff to be very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The children were well catered for and the hotel even catered for my daughter who is on a dairy free diet. We found that our room was very large and was bright and airy. It was very clean and nicely decorated. We would like to thank Delia, Dilly and Tim for all their hard work and giving us a great place to stay during our late break.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

on arrival we had to pass through a group of people outside front door smoking i havent got a problem with people smoking its the area they were doing it we had to come up the steps with cases and they were blocking the way ... it smelt and the main communial area looked like a rest home for the elderly. there was people asleep in most of the chairs. the rooms were not ready for us and wouldnt be till 2p.m. we asked if we could leave the cases some were and was told we could leave them round the far corner of the bar, this was not a secure area.The room myself and my husband had had no cold water so we would run hot a few moments before we needed it so it would cool down. the was an electric connection under the sink which i thought was a bit dangerous, on more than one occastion there was stale urine on floor in communial toilet one of our group slipped on. the tidy bins were not emptied in toilets every day. on more than one occastion we had to run the guantlet of men who had been drinking all night to get to the dining room. there was no entertainment as stated at
the hotel
only good thing about the hotel was it was in a good position for stageing our trips out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireDewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Owner at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

DerbyshireDewy, thank you for your review in 2009. We would like to say sorry for the upset caused on your stay at the Trevelyan Hotel. We have now started remodelling and the smoking area will be removed and placed in a more suitable location. The communial area and entrance will be having a make over. All rooms have hot and cold water and if this was an issue would recommened it to be reported asap to management as for urine in the toilets we clean every day four times a day. We are sorry if urine or other spillages are incountered and recommened this also be reported as so that management can deal with it.

Checkin in most hotels is between 3pm and 4pm and therefore, the checkin at the Trevelyan is better as we allow checkins' at 2pm.

Thank you for your review and we would welcome you back to the hotel in the future and will try to make your stay as welcoming as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

i booked a room over the phone as theres no other way to book, the woman i spoke to told me she had a sea veiw room at 25pounds each a night i asked her if ther would be entertainment on as we where arriving on a mon - thurs she said yes there would be. We arrived about 2 30 pm on 20th july 09 the outside of the large sea front hotel was impressive with the lovely display of flowers and tt races arrangement so we went in expecting a good welcome . What a dissapointment it was dark with dreary coloured paint on the walls it smelt like an ashtray and nobody to been seen for about 5mins when a man appeared i told him i had booked over the phone then he said" ok if you want to wait outside ill get somebody to see you .
We waited again for 5mins when a woman came to the small reception desk i checked with her the price of the room " yes 25pounds she said " then i asked her was it sea front she said "oh no those rooms are 27pounds a night each " then i asked her what entertainment was on she said in a abrupt voice " theres no entertainment thers only 8 people in the building so its not worth it ". another lady who worked there appeared the she then asked her to change the pillow cases on our room ,we both thought what about the rest of the bed sheets ect not happy and with a back room i asked to see it she replied " well which room do you want to see " in a few seconds she then said "i dont think we can help you here so you d better go somewhere else ". i said that wouldnt be a problem and left .
we stayed at the thisledo guest house in woodville terrace douglas what a differance a friendly welcome clean nicely decorated room and dave and carol where the most helpfull and accomodating hosts nothing to much trouble we will return there

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarete852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hello margarete852, thank you for your review of the hotel in 2009. First of all, I would like to report that you never actually went into any room and therefore did not see any rooms. All bedding is changed on a daily basis, that includes pillow cases, covers and duvet covers. Prices for rooms are advertised on the Department of Tourism's Website and at no time would you have been told incorrect prices.

As you did not stay in the hotel, we believe that your comment is highly incorrect and that you should consider removing the comment that is FALSE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank Diac Rui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
Thank andlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
665 reviews
0 mi away
The Penta
The Penta
#18 of 37 in Douglas
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#8 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevelyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevelyan

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trevelyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevelyan Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing