We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes Faulty Towers look like the Ritz”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trevelyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trevelyan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makes Faulty Towers look like the Ritz”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a horrible hotel, if in fact you could call it that. Ring a bell to check in and then wait for an eternity for someone to pop their head around a door with the attitude that you were disturbing them from something far more important. Booked a double ensuite and arrived to find two single beds separated by a chest of drawers. The 'Ensuite' was so small (no bigger than a wardrobe) that you had to reverse into it. Dirty sink covered with the previous occupants hairs and toothpaste reminants, shower dirty - any longer than two minutes in it and you were standing in 3-4 inches of water. We were in a room directly above the Karioke entertainment which went on until gone 2am in the morning - coupled with people drinking directly outside the hotel until 4am. Then for it all to start again at 7am when the hotel was more interested in serving alcohol to people to continue sitting and talking loudly directly outside. Checked out the next day - advised we were checking out only to be told 'well it is TT week and i'm not getting any sleep either!' REALLY. When booking a hotel, the least we expect is the opportunity for a sleep. Nine night stay booked for TT week and could only bear to stay one night. Is it any wonder that they ask you to pay for the entire stay up front. Over priced dump!! Was thankfully able to find available homestay so we could enjoy the remainder of the TT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MLDavidson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan. Please note that if complaints are not aired at reception then they cannot be rectified and are thus invalid.
We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests. As the building is listed only certain adjustments can be made that meet the rules and regulations set by the Manx planning department.
All feedback is appreciated and acknowledged for future development.

Dear previous guest,
all staff are highly trained and would never be rude to any guest. We endeavor to check in guests as soon as possible. This may sometimes take longer if there are numerous guests wanting to check in at the same.
You booked your room during the TT period and would have been told that you booked a twin en-suite and not a double. During this busy period we can only supply rooms that are available.
Please note that all rooms and appliances are registered and certified by the tourist board annually.
Every room is cleaned thoroughly and we ensure that no dirt is left behind, especially in sinks.
Yes we do provide live entertainment during the TT for all guests such as live music, karaoke etc. Entertainment is provided by the hotel for guests free of charge. Noise on such occasions is inevitable and is only hosted on select days of the TT race week. While entertainment is on, our bar (which is not open till 7am in the morning) is open for guests. People are on holiday and want to enjoy themselves!
Please take into consideration that your room was on the front of the hotel. TT is a busy period and a lot of noise is generated by people talking, vehicles driving up and down the prom or from the funfair. This cannot be helped.
The Trevelyan is a three star accommodation. Please look up what this type of accommodation entails. If you expect more then by all means spend more for top tier accommodation that is isolated from any noise.
Regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    17
    9
    25
See reviews for
18
21
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
castleford west yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A big thank you to all staff at the Trevelyan for a great week all staff was lovely very friendly great breakfast nice clean room we all had a great time we got what we payed for could do with kettles in rooms though for those who like a early morning cuppa as we couldn't buy a cup of tea be for breakfast so what if it needs a lick of paint you don't go on holiday to stay in your hotel and we will be back next year hopefully

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helliejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear helliejay,

Thank you for your comments and we are currently in the middle of painting but didn't want to be painting during the high season...but thank you for that. Also we try our best to keep everyone happy and kettles will hopefully be in every room by 2014.

We welcome you back with open arms, and can't wait to see you once again.

Thank you,

K Inglis
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at the Trevelyan and at £45 per night for an en-suite room it's very good value. Delia is a wonderful host and whereas the B&B isn't the most luxurious of accommodations what do you expect for £45 a night on the Douglas front? The rooms were cleaned every day and were more than adequate. I'll definitely be staying agin the next time I go to the T.T.!

Room Tip: Go for an en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Twin room, damp and filthy with stained sheets, no toilet or shower!!! Young man in reception/bar was completely unhelpful and extremely rude, completely ruined TT week for me so much so I left the island early, gutted:(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to offer you my apologies for your stay at the Trevelyan Hotel. I know that there is nothing I can say that will make up for your holiday and the disappointment you have had.

The hotel offers a variety of rooms from en-suites to standards; doubles, twins and singles. Sometimes, bookings can be made and alternative accommodation provided if we are fully booked or over booked. We try to offer a comfortable stay for everyone no matter what the circumstances are. Therefore, I can only assume that during this time of the season (TT Fortnight) that your booking was late and no en-suite rooms were left. I have no doubt that you were advised of the room that you would have before and certainly upon arrival.

As for the staff member being rude and unhelpful, I apologies for this and guarantee disciplinary procedures and further training will be given to this employee.

Once again, I am very sorry and welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

K Inglis.
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's cheap.
It's tacky, it's run down,it smells musty,everything is ancient and a lot of it is broken.
I could forgive that for the price but there is no excuse for bad customer service whatever you charge.
Hard to find the staff and if you do manage to coax one out of the back,dont expect your needs to be met.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a decent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giddykipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Public Relations Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Abigail1Lancaster,

I am sorry that you feel that the customer service was not up to your liking during your stay at The Trevelyan Hotel. I was wondering if you could be more specific with some details that you have written such as, what was "broken"?

Also if you could be more specific with the bad customer service that you received and I can look into the issues you raise with the owner.

Once again sorry that you feel that your stay was not to the best and high quality that The Trevelyan Hotel aims for.

If you could email me the details of your stay at ik108@greenwich.ac.uk referencing Trevelyan/Tripadvisor

Thank you,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I first stayed at the Trevelyan back in 2007, I have on each occasion visited there been made very welcome, rooms have been spotless, any problems I only had to speak to Delia and all was sorted. If I needed assistance it was there. The family have on each visit been more than helpful to me, they have made each of my stays one to remember.
This year 2012 I am returning again to the The Trevelyan a visit I am very much looking forward to. Over the years I feel each time I visit I am part of the family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballacrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Public Relations Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your comment with regards to The Trevelyan Hotel. We aim to please all our customers every day of the year. If you have any feedback that can help us improve our services please email me on ik108@greenwich.ac.uk with reference Trevelyan/Tripadvisor.

Thanks and hope to see you back soon,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just back from our third trip to the Trevelyan in the past couple of years, and once again had a great stay. Regarding some of the negative comments, I fail to understand what some people expect from this type of establishment? Our room was spacious, comfortable and, above all, spotless with a super view of the Bay. Breakfast was excellent and our hosts - the McGuire family are lovely, welcoming people. Location is also first class, with Horse Trams to the town centre right outside the door, and an easy 5-7 minute walk to the Electric Tram terminus for trips to Laxey & Ramsey. Street-side parking is also pretty good. With a double room priced at around £60-£65 per night, the Trevelyan more than met our expectations - as it will do for most reasonable people. Thank you once again to Mr & Mrs McGuire, Delia and Issy for making us so welcome and we look forward to staying again soon.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevelyanIOM, Public Relations Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your comment with regards to The Trevelyan Hotel. We aim to please all our customers every day of the year. If you have any feedback that can help us improve our services please email me on ik108@greenwich.ac.uk with reference Trevelyan/Tripadvisor.

Thanks and hope to see you back soon,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#17 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#22 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevelyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevelyan Hotel

Property: Trevelyan Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trevelyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevelyan Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing