We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautifully appointed Guest House with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edelweiss Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edelweiss Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Beautifully appointed Guest House with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent a few days in Douglas and, being used to staying in big "corporate" hotels when travelling on business, decided that I fancied a homely-looking guest house for a nice chill-out. What a fantastic choice the Edelweiss turned out to be. I was warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to a spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated single room on the fourth floor. The room had everything that you would expect to see in a top hotel from the comfortable bed to the flat-screen TV with built-in DVD. There were also some nice little extras like the toiletries bag in the bathroom. The guests' lounge is really comfortable with a massive TV and a library of DVDs for guests to enjoy. The breakfast is very substantial and of high quality and the service very efficient and unobtrusive. I would most definitely highly-recommend the Edelweiss and look forward to stopping again in my next visit to the Isle of Man.

Room Tip: I had room 220 (single) - the sea view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review it was a pleasure to have you here.
We pride ourselves in providing quality accommodation but in a homely and relaxed environment.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    62
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
76
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and magnificent sea views. Lift is small but adequate.
Very friendly and efficient staff and proprietor. Nothing is too much trouble. Fantastic "take away" breakfast for the early return boat. Buffet breakfast is fabulous and the service incredible. The whole place runs with military precision; tea and toast arrive within seconds of your ordering.
Ideally placed on the Promenade, really cant wait to stay there again!!

Room Tip: Room 222 has lovely views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solwaysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you indeed for your lovely comments about our Guest House.
We pride ourselves to do our very best for our Guests at all times and we are glad our efficiency is showing!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back - soon we hope
Kind Regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our first visit to the Island but not the last, The travel passes are brilliant way of getting to see the Island. we used the trains in the morning and came home late evening via the local buses. No need for a car if there is 1 or 2 of you. The Hotel was great. Cant criticize it in any way- the lift is small tho! We had room 223 on the 4th floor at the front which had a sea view. Very clean and comfortable. Be aware tho that the buses terminate at the ferry end of Douglas and this Hotel is about a mile and half the other end of the bay, luckily we enjoy walking so it wasn't a problem for us. I would recommend this hotel and we will use it again.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the little extra for the sea view, but they are limited and you will be on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelgruar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much - it was a pleasure to meet you.
There are several bus services that pass directly by the Edelweiss (1, 2, 11, 12, 13,) plus various others including a direct route to and from the Airport which our guests find very convenient.
We also have rooms on the second floor that have excellent sea views - so it is not just the 3rd and 4th.
Our lift is small but we are lucky enough to have one unlike the majority of other Guest Houses in our Area where Guests would have no other option but to negotiate up to 6 flights of stairs.
For this reason we are very glad to have the lift as are our regular guests.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent place to stay!

We (husband and 20 month old daughter) chose this place to stay after a family wedding in Douglas as it was competitively priced and had good reviews on TripAdvisor. My parents also chose to stay here, both of us choosing the double room with breakfast option.

On arrival we found it was much better looking in person than on the photos and the staff were very accommodating, allowing my parents to drop off some bags the day before we were due to arrive (as we had been sharing a self catering prior to this).

As we had a bed guard with us I told the staff we could have a single bed or travel cot and we were very pleased to see our room which consisted of a double and 2 single beds (at the cost of a double). We also had a double size shower and had free wifi! My parents only had a bath with their double.

The breakfast was excellent consisting of a hot breakfast buffet, fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, toast, fruit juice and hot drinks, fruit, muffins and croissants! A feast!! They also had a high chair for our little one.

Downstairs in the lounge area there was a large tv with a selection of childrens and adults dvds and books. Our baby monitors were easily able to reach from our 2nd floor room.

Immediately opposite the b&b is the promenade, but far enough back to avoid any potential traffic noise. There is a pub and Thai just round the corner too. On the promenade is an excellent play Park as well as some beautiful garden areas.

A fantastic place to stay! Only downsides for us was that it was karaoke night at a hotel nearby which was rather loud, but thankfully finished a little after 10 and our view out the windows was a rock face-but we weren't looking out the window!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. When you made your booking requesting a cot we were only to upgrade you to the family room free of charge with our compliments as we thought it may be more comfortable for you and it was available at the time.
Unfortunately on the night of your stay there was some noise earlier on in the evening from a function at a nearby Hotel - we sincerely apologise for this and hope you were not disturbed too much as it is out of our control - It did however finish fairly early as you mentioned.
It was a pleasure meeting you all and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Shirley
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Set right by the bus stop on the promenade, we received a warm and friendly welcome. Pleasant lounge to relax in if needed. It boasts what must be the smallest lift on the island if not in the uk. We needed to be fit to climb to the third floor. Freshly cooked breakfast would have been preferable to the warm buffet. Overall the hotel provided an excellent base for exploring a very interesting island .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deryck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your many complimentary comments.
We are in fact one of the only Guest Houses in our area that has a lift - small it may be but is in perfect working order and in keeping with the age of the building - we have also seen smaller in other places.
We always listen to our guests and what they tell us they want and we are always highly praised for our Buffett Breakfast which offers guests the flexibility of having exactly what they want. The food is replenished regularly which is all freshly cooked.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House and we hope to see you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent 4nyts in this beautiful warm and welcoming guest house,my friend and I enjoyed every minute.The room we stayed in we could not fault,the staff and Shirley were friendly and polite.Everything about r break was wonderful.We left early in morning for r homeward journey and Syliva made us packed breakfast which was much appreciated.Thankyou Syliva for a warm and friendly stay and we will be back:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a 5 night stay at the Edelweiss last week June 17th - 22nd and have to say we found it okay for the length of stay. If we had booked longer then it would be less so. We had room 218 on the 3rd floor, which is a standard twin room with en-suite. The room is shown in the hotel photos and has the twin beds at either end of the room, which is fine but a little small, though has plenty of hangers in the wardrobe and plenty of drawers. tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. However, the bathroom is very small (my husband said it had everything there but in miniature). The hand basin is so tiny you can just about get your hands in it and a glass shelf has been put above the basin making it totally useless. We removed the shelf to try and give ourselves a little more room. You can clean you teeth but having a wash is a bit of a trial. Not everyone wants to have a shower in the mornings. On the note of the shower, this one is really good but could do with somewhere to put your toiletries whilst showering. The hairdryer has a long lead which is good as the only sockets we could find were underneath the tv on the far wall, and the only mirror was in the bathroom.
The breakfast was buffet, with bacon, sausages, tomatoes, scrambled egg and baked beans kept warm in a bain-marie though the bacon did tend to cool quite quickly. Plenty of choice for cereals etc., and plenty of toast offered. The service was excellent, though I personally felt a little rushed at times, as your plate was removed as soon as you had finished eating, though that was only my opinion. My husband thought it was as it should be.
Overall, the guest house was very clean and tidy, the lounge very comfortable and welcoming and the lady owner was very friendly.
We would definitely stay again, but would request a room with a bigger bathroom. if we were staying longer.

Room Tip: This room was at the back and we did here the bins being put out quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#3 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edelweiss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edelweiss Guest House

Property: The Edelweiss Guest House
Address: The Edelweiss 29 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edelweiss Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edelweiss is a three star guest house in the heart of Douglas, Isle of Man. The central location in the island's capital and the wonderful sea views make The Edelweiss an ideal holiday accommodation in the Isle of Man, open all year around to cater for your needs.Although the guest house has all the benefits of the central location, it is nevertheless set in a quiet surrounding off the main busy promenade.The airport is around 10 miles away from the Edelweiss and the sea terminal is close by (1.3 miles), which makes the Edelweiss the ideal accommodation on the Isle of Man. A short walk takes you direct into the centre of Douglas with all it has to offer. A short drive leads to Onchan Pleasure Park, Village Walk, Manx National Glens and Douglas Golf Club. Free unrestricted parking is available nearby.For the benefit of guests who have difficulties with stairs, the guest house is equipped with a lift to all floors. Other facilities which add to your comfort in the Edelweiss are a guest lounge with large screen TV, gift shop and laundry service if required.Bed & Breakfast AccommodationThe Edelweiss has 18 well-appointed rooms, all en-suite and centrally heated. Each room provides the daily necessities for holiday guests, some of the rooms offer a stunning sight, overlooking Douglas' coast and the beautiful sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Edelweiss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edelweiss Guest House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing