We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Edelweiss definitely punches above it's weight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edelweiss Guest House
Ranked #5 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Edelweiss definitely punches above it's weight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay, the place was spotless, the shower was fantastic and all the little extras and fittings are of good quality, much higher spec than normal. The price was good and the breakfast was fantastic, the towels and bedding was so white you could do soap powder ad with them. It's very difficult to criticise the Edelweiss. If I had to make a comment I would say that I would prefer a bowl of sugar on the breakfast table and not those horrible sachets. Now that should tell you how good the place is. The owner(s) obviously work very hard to get things right and should be proud of their business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_happy_traveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your many kind words.
When visited by the Quality Assessors for accommodation grading we always score very highly in the areas that you mention for a three star graded Guest House and we even gained five star for cleanliness in a recent visit.
It is our very aim to always exceed our guests expectations and provide everything they need so they can have a relaxing and pleasurable stay.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Kind regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
76
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Nice rooms. comfy bed. hot powerful shower. Nice big breakfast loads of choice all well presented even made us a packed breakfast when we left before normal breakfast time. Very good price too. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatesNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us so positively.
The fact you enjoyed your stay with us so much means a lot to us as we always aim to please.
To be described as "excellent" makes us very happy indeed and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax in england
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on Friday 19th April 2013, as we were seeing Adam Ant play at the Villa Marina. The location of the place is excellent with sea views. The place is very clean, the rooms are more than adequate. The staff are exceptionally friendly. For the price this is more than good value for money.
Our flight was early morning and a packed breakfast was prepared for us, so we got something to eat when on our return travel.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
The fact that you travel so frequently and visit lots of Hotels and Guest Houses makes us very happy that you rate us so highly.
We are glad that you enjoyed your packed breakfast that we prepared for you due to your very early flight this is a standard thing we do and can not believe other places do not consider this important for their guests.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope to welcome you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely rooms with sea views. Very welcoming. Excellent breakfasts. warm and cosy. The only thing I would say is to be aware the lift is very small, so if you are claustrophobic and can't manage stairs!! this B and B is not for you. For everyone else it's a gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
The fact you enjoyed your stay so much means a lot to us and to describe the Edelweiss as a "Gem" makes us very happy - thank you so much.
We agree our lift is small but as a Guest House in Douglas we are one of the very few businesses that have one and it certainly helps people with walking difficulties / problems with stairs etc.
Kind Regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clitheroe
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

we visited the island for 4 days/3 nights from 8th april 2013 to visit family and personal things..The hotel was lovely and inviting..My husband and I had room 223 - a lovely double room -luxury really..we had a bath in our room (thought i would struggle washing my hair but made do with a big plastic cup for rinsing!! the bath itself was lovely to relax in) - the view was great
My son and partner had room 222 - again a lovely double room with shower - lovely views again
My other son, partner and baby had room 217 at the back of the hotel - no view but this was certainly not a problem - very spacious room with double bed and single bed and room for the travel cot. There was a shower in this room.
My daughter (on her own) had a single room (206) - lovely sized room with a shower and view.
All rooms had coffee/tea making facilities and no shortage of tea/coffee/milk/sugar - even biscuits :)
My husband and I are early risers so had 2 or 3 cups of coffee/tea in the morning and 1 or 2 in the afternoon before going out and the biscuits went down well also :)
The rooms were clean and comfortable (had very good quality of sleep)
Breakfast has got to be the best we have ever had in any hotel - really tasty and as much as you can eat really - the word 'fantastic' isnt enough for this.
The owners were lovely, helpful people.
In other words 'can not praise this hotel enough'
and we all feel the same :)
hoping to come back in september but just me and husband this time so hope you have room for us.
Just one more thing:- would like to recommend JAkS for a meal (best to book first as it is always busy) - I have been here a few times before this trip and it was fantastic - took the family there and thought it may not be as good - how wrong i was - it was excellent...
This all made for the perfect time away.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and the fact you enjoyed your stay so much means a lot.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are on the Island

Kind Regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 207, which is a double with sea view, and our parents were in 205, a twin with sea view. Both rooms were clean, ample sized rooms. Breakfasts are excellent, with plenty of choice. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and wi-fi is available and reliable. The hotel doesn't claim to be a five star, luxury hotel, but is tremendous value for money! If you hire a car, which we found invaluable, parking in low season is fairly straight forward, but I hate to think what it will be like in busier times!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccwingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
We do not offer on site parking but parking is available free of charge either on Switzerland Road or on the Queens Promenade. Although in busier times parking can be less readily available we have the advantage that the parking in our area is available for 24 hours unlike other areas of Douglas that is restricted to 2 hour slots and is incredibly scarce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

On arrival at 8:45 am we were offered a breakfast & as the rooms were obviously not ready allowed to leave our cases until lunch time when Shirley ( Landlady ) then rang me to say our rooms were ready with our cases put in them ready for us. The lounge is lovely with TV, computer & always warm which is lovely as it did get cold & windly some days. On Departure we could leave our cases & when we returned an hour early Shirley made us a tray of tea & looked after us SO well. Our rooms were Lovely & clean with sea views, a welcome pack, biscuit & a chocolate on our pillow as a welcome. Breakfast was lovely. Location for me was perfect. IF you can get into this Guest House you will enjoy it I'm sure. Thank you so much Shirley for being SO lovely. And I think the prices are the Most competitive on Douglas!

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view if on top floor there is a very small lift which is turned Off at 11pm so the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley C, Manager at The Edelweiss Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We always try to do our very best for our guests and think of their individual needs and the fact you noticed this means a lot.
We think what we would need when staying in a Guest House with our little complimentary room extras provided - we are glad you like them.
It was our pleasure to meet you both and really hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Kind Regards
Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#3 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edelweiss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edelweiss Guest House

Property: The Edelweiss Guest House
Address: The Edelweiss 29 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edelweiss Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edelweiss is a three star guest house in the heart of Douglas, Isle of Man. The central location in the island's capital and the wonderful sea views make The Edelweiss an ideal holiday accommodation in the Isle of Man, open all year around to cater for your needs.Although the guest house has all the benefits of the central location, it is nevertheless set in a quiet surrounding off the main busy promenade.The airport is around 10 miles away from the Edelweiss and the sea terminal is close by (1.3 miles), which makes the Edelweiss the ideal accommodation on the Isle of Man. A short walk takes you direct into the centre of Douglas with all it has to offer. A short drive leads to Onchan Pleasure Park, Village Walk, Manx National Glens and Douglas Golf Club. Free unrestricted parking is available nearby.For the benefit of guests who have difficulties with stairs, the guest house is equipped with a lift to all floors. Other facilities which add to your comfort in the Edelweiss are a guest lounge with large screen TV, gift shop and laundry service if required.Bed & Breakfast AccommodationThe Edelweiss has 18 well-appointed rooms, all en-suite and centrally heated. Each room provides the daily necessities for holiday guests, some of the rooms offer a stunning sight, overlooking Douglas' coast and the beautiful sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Edelweiss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edelweiss Guest House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing