We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID.”
Review of Alessandro's

Alessandro's
Ranked #21 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AVOID.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Food had obviously been cooked hours if not a day in advance and reheated. Hideously overpriced. Never ever would we go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steeyuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    113
    29
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty, well presented, and very reasonable for what you get.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It started with a menu of before dinner drinks you just don't find in most places in the UK. The Chef's Special appetizer--big enough for two to share--was delicious. The tortellini zucca was perfectly done and the pork shank was delicious and huge. Usually I try to eat the representative foods of the area I travel in, but I'm so glad we made an exception for Alessandros.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grayontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletown
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a meal before a show or the cinema”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went before a film on a rainy Sunday night. Good value, good range (although perhaps too many things on the menu). We had the Fritto misto which were generous in size, tasty and fresh. We will definitely be going again. The restaurant was busy and the service was great. I would recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarajeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really tasty meal with good service. It was well attended, so in high season, it might be a good idea to book in advance. We'd have gone again if we'd had time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Little piece of Italy tucked away above the cobbled street”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Sunday night and this seemed to be the only place open - so in we went. What a little gem, up a staircase between a couple of shops in the cobbled main street of Douglas. I started with crab cakes (£5.95) - three small cakes on a bed of leaves with a really potent sweet chili dip - much spicier than the usual but I liked that. I followed this with a 'hot' pizza (£10.95) which definitely delivered and had plenty of toppings on a thin crust. The other meal was fish skewers(16.95), two large skewers with monkfish, swordfish and prawns plus some veggies and chips - it was declared good and fresh and the portion was large. Coffee, tea and drinks added a further £17.95 to the bill which I thought was a very reasonable £51.80. Service was good and friendly and we were not hurried at all - recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessandro's also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Alessandro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing