We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and delicious”

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Douglas, IOM
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A small location off the quay, you might be a bit cramped for space but the food is fantastic! If you get the right table you can even chat with the chefs whilst they prepare your meal. Do NOT miss the crab toasties for a starter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank StragIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    100
    22
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful food and service as always. I had the The Queenie fritters which were gorgeous, will definitely try those again Seabass was excellent as usual. And really enjoyed the Christmas pudding pancakes too, a lovely twist on the classic Christmas pudding which made it much lighter.
A great place to eat and would recommend booking especially at weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marvellous Food at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My particular favourite is the Fish Pie - The best I have ever eaten. However they do not just specialise in fish - My Partner ordered a steak which happened to be sold out but they sent someone out to purchase a steak especially for him - Brilliant Service, Brilliant Food all at a reasonable price

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Crab Toasties all round !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Been here twice in the last fortnight, and this resteraunt shows what can be done on the Isle of Man, where this frankly limited choice.

It's a little pricey in IOM terms, but the quality of the food is worth it. In addition the service is excellent, even when it's full, which is a lot of the time. With an open kitchen, which is also very close, you get to see first hand how well organised the kitchen is, and the quality of the produce.

Try the lobster, its worth it, but there is ample choice.

Above all, get the crab Toasties. They are a melt in the mouth sensation, and worth the trip, just for this.

Helpful?
Thank stewartdavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tanroagan's is a small restaurant in Douglas specialising in all types of seafood, something that as a regular visitor to the island I always find appealing. The menu has a great choice with a number of specials, lobster seemed to be in abundance last night, great I imagine if you were looking to celebrate, but I chose the Roast Cod which was cooked perfectly and complimented with a buerre blanc sauce and some rich Dauphinoise potatoes although they call them a Tartiflette. If you like your fish restaurants you won't be disappointed, this is similar in style to the Fish Club in Liverpool for those who have been. We've been twice now and really enjoyed it both times. Good choice of wines, excellent informal service and an open kitchen with two chefs who seem to cope amazingly well in a very confined space. Go when you get the chance, its really good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing