We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The first time we were taken by my brother and his wife - they live on the island and it is one of their favourites. We went back on our next opportunity. It is a seafood restaurant, with most of their fish being caught in local waters - just ask the staff and they will tell you. It is not cheap, but a high quality meal for a real teat with someone you care about or wish to impress (possibly both). The staff are friendly, chatty and knowledgeable about what is being cooked. I have not been to a better fish restaurant that I can remember.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ygor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    105
    23
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tanroagan is absolutely the must visit restaurant on the Isle of Man if a fish lover. The restaurant is great well decorated, the dining area however a little small so best to book. The daily specials are always varied and delicious. I normally have to whole lobster and it never disappoints. This restaurant is great for special occasions and if you are in the mood for fantastic seafood/fish.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had lunch today in Tanroagan. The restaurant is 10/10. Food is delicious, i had goat cheese souflee starter, it was out of this world and the seabass is simply the best. Service is excellent, i was served by a lady called Neren, she is very professional, friendly, smiley and attentionate. This restaurant deserves to be the best restaurant in Douglas. When on the island, visiting Tanroagan is a must...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had evening meal three nights running whilst over in the island to watch the Manx Grand Prix.I received excellent service from the friendly staff, and I considered the food to be of very high quality, A nice change to have the food presented on a hot plate, rather than cold or luke warm.They were virtually booked up for my final visit, but managed to fit me in at 6-30, as soon as the restaurant opened. Overall highly pleased with the front of house staff and the ability of the chefs.Top class.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our son, his wife, my wife and I enjoyed a quick lunch (son works just round the corner); the lunch menu is excellent value for money, the food is of superb quality and the staff are most welcoming.

Be warned the fish fingers (pollack when we were there but tend to be made from what is fresh) although very tasty, don't be tempted go for the 5 option, three are as many as most will manage. The fish pie was superb and my omlette was probably the best I've ever eaten.

Yes the evening menu is quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing