We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - You have to pay a visit.”

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic - You have to pay a visit.”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Travelling alone on business and decided to drop in early evening to see if i could get a bite to eat. Got there at 6.15pm (doesnt open until 6.30pm) and reserved a table. The waitress recommnended a nice pub (The Bridge) for me to grab a quick pint while i waited for the restaurant to open.
Was given the choice of tables and chose to sit facing the open kitchen where i watched the two chefs prepare the food (and cook the lobsters....!). The staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. i ordered the 'fish fingers' which were actually 6-7 pieces of juicy pollack covered in crispy light batter served with hand cut man-size chips and homemade tartare sauce! It was delicious. I will definitely return when i visit the island again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    105
    23
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good service, fantastic food.”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Don't be put off by the "fish fingers" on the menu - these aren't your frozen fish fingers, these are perfectly cooked bits of fish in a lovely crisp batter.

The restaurant is small, but there's space between the tables and a clear view into the kitchen.

When we went, it was fully booked and it was only thanks to having a reservation that we get a table.

If you're visiting Douglas, then phone ahead, book a table, and go along!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Went here during TT week so very busy and had to book a couple of days in advance but it was well worth it.
The Seafood was excellent with a really good choice and the service was really good and not too rushed bearing in mind the amount of people there.
Overall good value for money and would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arowleybrereton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and service no 1 for us”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

we went to tanroagan after seeing it was no1 in douglas at the time
my wife also loves fish
we arrived on a thursday evening without booking and luckly they found us a table 30minutes later they were turning people away
the staff were very friendly and helpfull
to cut it short we had a lovely evening the food and wine were excellent
we would come back everytime

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rammie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish and Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have just returned from holiday on Isle of Man. We dined at this fabulous restaurant twice during our week stay.
Food is first class, chefs amazing and waiting staff most helpful and friendly.
Definately a place not to miss this wonderful cullinary experience with fresh locally sourced delicious produce.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing