We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights, and it was a good experience. Other members of my party stayed at The Palace and The Sefton, which are both more lavish (as you would expect from 4 Star hotels) but are a bit overwhelming for my tastes. The Empress has all you need - a gym, swimming pool, sauna & steam room plus a decent restaurant, bar & breakfast room. It doesn't have reserved parking, but finding a free parking space on the promenade wasn't a problem - not once! And so to the moans (and what review would be complete without those!): the single room was too small, although it made good use of the space; no sea view - none of the single rooms have a view; no bottled water or fridge in room; breakfast provided only butter & full-cream milk - no Flora or skimmed/semi-skimmed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the lift; it's not noisy, but guests moving about late at night ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alantoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

As this had been a bit of a rush booking job I hadn’t researched the hotel particularly thoroughly and opted for a typical seafront hotel with a reasonable trip advisor rating called ‘The Empress’ It was OK, what more can I say. It cost me a shade over fifty quid a night for a recently decorated rather small but acceptably equipped room at the rear of the hotel. I had dinner in the ‘restaurant’ on Saturday night. ‘Restaurant’ is rather ostentatious really, it was actually just a part of the open plan lobby set aside for diners. The fact there was only me on a Saturday night should have set the alarms off but, I was tired, it was after 9 and lengthy walk into the centre of Douglas if I wanted to eat out. The quality of the food would suggest that those reasons are behind more than one reason for anyone choosing to eat here, definitely not the food itself based on what I was served. But, hey, you can’t win them all. In fairness the room was perfectly acceptable for the price paid and in the morning they do serve a rather good buffet style breakfast in the basement. Wi-Fi was free but there is no car park. You can park on the road outside, which is the promenade, but bearing in mind I was not there in peak season I had to park quite a walk away from the entrance. So to sum up on the Empress, good value for b&b, go out for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

A good breakfast otherwise for the price poor value for money

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank heikoboettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: N'y allez pas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eldoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: Castle Mona Avenue, Douglas IM2 4RA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $85 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing