We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb apartments, wonderful location!”
Review of Cunard Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cunard Apartments
Reviewed October 1, 2009

just came back from a four day break on the beautiful isle of man, my wife and i stayed at the cunard aparthotel, we stayed there on a number of ocassions in the past when it was the cunard hotel,we could,nt its praises enough then,fine home cooked food,great atmosphere in the bar,friendly, and informative management team in mr &mrs quirk &nigel the transfer from hotel to aparthotel is superb, the apartments are truely four star (five star we,d say), with every home comfort, t.v. in every bedroom, large t.v. in lounge, with sky, playstation, c.d. player, etc. main bedroom has a en.suite, with a seperate bathroom as well very spacious a real home from home feel about it.! location= location is brilliant lounge overlooks promenade, sunken gardens, with lovely views out to douglas bay,sea terminal is a ten minute stroll away bus & tram stop outside the door, unfortunately the horse trams were not running something the powers that be should address we feel. the bar overlooks the promenade, lovely to sit unwind & have a quiet drink. if you have,nt discovered the isle of man yet and are thinking about it,don,t hesitate book these superb apartments, with its great management team, we are certain you won,t be dissapointed, we are going back next year with our grandchildren,so much for them to do on this gem of an island. ps plenty of named shops for the ladies to! frank& jen davies ebbw vale south wales

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday and were lucky enough to find this wonderful accommodation. The Apartments are perfectly located, a couple of minutes from the port, directly overlooking the promenade, yet quiet and peaceful.

The Apartments are spacious and light and have everything you could possibly want, a home from home. We have small children and there was lots of room for them to entertain themselves and they were made very welcome.

The Owners do a great justice to the smooth running of the Apartments and helped us with several queries before and during our stay.

Being on the promenade you are close to shops and restaurants and railways are within walking distance. All the railways lead to towns and locations where places to visit are again all within walking distance. Parking on the promenade is restricted to two hours intervals during the day which didn't present us with problems as we were always out by 10 and didn't return before 4pm. Although the only parking is roadside there was always a space!

We will definitely return and if you are looking at this considering booking, do it now, Luxury accommodation at reasonable prices, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHolidayMaker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We went to Cunard Aparthotel in Douglas for a week in August this year (09) as part of our family summer holiday. The location of the aparthotel was fantastic, we simply rolled off the boat and there it was. The apartment was huge, extremely well equipped and very clean. Nigel was very attentive and his son was delightful.

The view from the lounge window was beautiful and it was lovely and quiet in the evenings. The apartment was very tastefully decorated throughout and there was everything you could possibly need (TV, DVD player, Playstation, TVs in the bedrooms etc). There is a cracking Italian restaurant next door called Paparazzi which served gorgeous food, just what we needed after a really long journey. They were very friendly and there was a great atmosphere.

There is so much to see and do in the Isle of Man - steam railways, beaches, horse-riding, go-karting, sightseeing etc. I found the standard of the food on the Island to be very high and everywhere is beautifully decorated. It had a very upmarket feel to it.

We did find it strange there weren't more holiday-makers though. I last visited the Isle of Man when I was 10 years old (summer of '76) and my memories are of everywhere being really busy. It didn't feel like that this time. Perhaps the Isle of Man government should spend a bit of money getting people back to visit the island. It is quite a well-kept secret at the moment. We had a really nice week and I would thoroughly recommend Cunard Aparthotel for a lovely, relaxing and interesting holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I had a great 5 day break. The apartment had everything we needed in a great location, very relaxing. We would definitely come again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gothicgables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

we had a great holiday in the cunart apartments
They are first class apartments Definitely 5 star accomdation.
Sound proofing was execellent
There were young children in the apartment above us and you could not hear a thing.
The views are great from large windows overlooking the prom very near to a large selection of restaurants No complaints at all
we would certainly return

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just returned from Holiday 2 adults 3 young children, grandma and grandad - cant reccommend the place highly enough. The rooms were of excellent size, good quality and well designed layout. The location is first class for the ferry and being in the heart of Douglas. Minor warning we were on top floor and there was a lot of stairs to get up (we left our push chair at the bottom of the stairs and there was no problem with that). This is one of the nicest and best qality places we have stayed in anywhere !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_brooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We have stayed at these Apartments in Summer 2008 & 2009. They provide everything one could want in terms of facilities, location, comfort and space.
No hesitation in recommending to anyone, young families, those with older children, or for couples young and old. The ability to climb the stairs is the only requirement needed.
You could not wish to stay in nicer apartments, which are also so handy for the shops, beach, sea terminal and local transport including the horse trams just outside.
We will be more than happy to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YORKSHIRETYKE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
398 reviews
0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
653 reviews
0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 15 in Douglas
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
113 reviews
0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#20 of 37 in Douglas
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunard Apartments

Address: 28-29 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Douglas
Price Range: $132 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cunard Apartments located in Douglas, the capital of the Isle of Man, are situated on Loch Promenade with beautiful views over the bay and marine gardens. These spacious 4 Star Deluxe Apartments in a central position offer the benefit of being near to all transport, shops and office locations whilst only a short distance from the beach and countryside. Close to the Sea & Air Terminals they offer the tourist and businessman ideal facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cunard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunard Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing