We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation with excellent support staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cunard Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cunard Apartments
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good accommodation with excellent support staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were initially booked for a week at Cunard Apartments but through a series of misadventures, stayed there for seven weeks. The flat was well-furnished and comfortable (though master bedroom bed was a little small for 6'4" occupant) and extremely well equipped. Overall the flat was spacious, full of light, we had a wonderful view of Douglas Harbour and the location was ideal. The property owner/manager was extremely helpful and efficient. There was a little noise on a Friday/Saturday night, as you might expect from a centrally positioned location, but it generally tailed off around midnight. We particularly appreciated the tv/DVD/Xbox combo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruxelles-Sprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Cunard apartment for our family holiday. Myself and my family have been visiting the island for the past thirteen years. This is the first time we have stayed in an self catering apartment. what with local shops, restaurants, transport facilities and the sea terminal within five minutes walking distance, this had to best located apartment on the island.

The apartment itself was very spacious, very clean, excellent facilities and well equipped. As a family, with two teenagers, the size of the apartment was such an asset. As well as the stunning views and large windows in the lounge / dining area, the apartment had a very comfortable but yet modern feeling. This was mixed with a lovely warm welcome from the owners. We would not hesitate to recommend the Cunard to families, couples, or anyone wishing for the perfect accommodation or location when visiting the island and we will definitely be booking again next year if not sooner!

Well done and thank you for a fantastic holiday!!!
The Essex family from Cheshire

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou3675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The apartment is well located but needed a damn good clean. The bedrooms had rolls of dust on the floor and the bedding & furniture looked shabby. The blinds were extremely thin and therefore didn't keep the light out. The childrens bedroom smelt of damp. A lot if the crockery was cheap and cracked and overall wasn't what I'd expected for £110 per night!!! The stairwell up to the apartments has a timer switch on the lights which turns off too quickly leaving u in the pitch black. Not a great set up.
I won't be returning and wish I'd booked at the sefton hotel down the road which looked considerably nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Walking along Douglas promenade it's easy to miss Cunard Apartments, the exterior blends in with many of the other hotels and guest houses. Once inside, looking out, its a very different world! The apartments are very large - this is no extended suite, but a proper, large roomed apartment with a very high specification. The view across Douglas Bay from the upper floors is stunning. The kitchen, bathroom, lounge, dining area are all fully kitted out - there is really very little you could do to improve! I was on business and my family joined me. Parking close by is convenient, and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The beach and playground are just across the road, the steam train and tram close by. Welcome and help from the owner was first rate - can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Check if loud music being played in the basement bar - you may want upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hughchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windemere cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

where do i start, Bert the owner was a great host, helping us with all our questions and giving advice about the island.The apartments are fantastic with everything you would need..The views over the bay are great. We are definitely going back to the cunard apartments and would reccomend them for anyone going for a break or holiday in Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank nickhay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Clean comfortable and huge - the apartments have all amenities and the managers/owners are friendly and helpful. Construction is going on in the basement at the moment but this caused us absolutely no inconvenience nor problem. The views of Douglas bay are spectacular and the location offers very easy access to supermarkets, coffee and banks. Book with confidence - exactly as advertised.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Cunard Apartments are in a recently modernised former hotel. The one we stayed in contained two reasonably sized bedrooms, a huge living/dining room (with TV, wi-fi etc), and a large well equipped kitchen. The main room had a wonderful view over the promenade and into the bay. The fit and finish was to a very, very high standard, and the place was wonderfully clean. The proprietors were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily go back again. There's no lift, but if you do not need one then we'd strongly recommend this as the place to stay in Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunard Apartments

Property: Cunard Apartments
Address: 28-29 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cunard Apartments located in Douglas, the capital of the Isle of Man, are situated on Loch Promenade with beautiful views over the bay and marine gardens. These spacious 4 Star Deluxe Apartments in a central position offer the benefit of being near to all transport, shops and office locations whilst only a short distance from the beach and countryside. Close to the Sea & Air Terminals they offer the tourist and businessman ideal facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Cunard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunard Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing