We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but great food!”
Review of Isola

Isola
Ranked #23 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky, but great food!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A quirky place, with various dinning rooms scattered around the building. I've eaten here several times and always enjoyed the food. Good food, reasonably priced and friendly service. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Queenies and Black Pasta!!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

No reservation required although they were certainly taking many for the rest of the week. And now we know why! Very quaint Italian restaurant with the best black pasta and Queenies! Authentic Italian with very fresh scallops. Having experienced true authentic Italian cuisine and experience with cooking Italian food, this was worth the trip to the Isle all in itself. Very tasty lamb shank which fell right off the bone. The entire meal was delicious! We highly recommend Isola to those interested in real Italian food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good tasty food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a favourite place with a cosy relaxed atmosphere that always satisfies the taste buds with good wine on offer and a great italian menu with lots of favourites on offer

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrizara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalucia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had to book a late table, our first choices were not available, selected Isola based on the trip advisor reviews.

We had no real problems with service but the food was decidedly below average. In hindsight a better meal could have been knocked up at home in 15 minutes, the food was bland and unremarkable. Very disappointing!

Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_lucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food was excellent, the table was booked by my girlfriend as a surprise birthday treat. This was based on the restaurant's special mid-week deals £12.95p for a 3 course meal. However the waitress never advised us and we ended up paying £50 for a two course meal. Drinks were extortionate £8.00p for a single gin and tonic and a large bottle of sparkling water. We could have had the three courses for £26.00p plus drinks. Disappointed that they did not explain. The deals are Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday. We saw the menu after we had eaten and paid. Very disappointed that they did not explain about the offer when we sat down.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing