We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 70th Birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Town House
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing 70th Birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I booked this as a joint 70th birthday present for my parents in March ’14 and I simply cannot recommend The Town House highly enough, from the ease of booking to the extra little touches and individual attention to detail, that makes a hotel stay so special! My parents absolutely loved their trip and raved about the hotel, saying it is 'out if this world'! They told me how you carried their cases because my dad has a bad knee and also how you remembered this and asked your Uncle to help them on check-out. They felt very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble, this hotel is a credit to the hospitality industry!

I am sincerely grateful to all at the Town House for making the trip so enjoyable and memorable for my dear mum and dad!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn_OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
26
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can't recommend this serviced accommodation enough. We stayed in Room 4 with fabulous panoramic views of the bay and its sights: the ferries in & out of the harbour, the Tower of Refuge, the horse-drawn trams, the gardens and the lights along the promenades in the evening.

The suite itself was very well-appointed, so much so that on a couple of evenings I bought food from the nearby M&S. prepared it in the kitchen and ate at our dining table overlooking the front. We enjoyed the starter pack of breakfast essentials and then bought our own for the following days.

We were able to work round the parking arrangements, namely that your disc would cover you from 4pm and then, after a visit to the car after 6pm to readjust for the following morning, until 10am. We didn't park during the day, but the 'welcome literature' assured you that this was to be found close by.

The management were very friendly and accommodating: waiting for us to arrive when we were later than anticipated, and placing a standard lamp in our sitting area when I mentioned that I missed one for reading.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 4 had views to last a lifetime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

2 adults, 2 kids-we booked the Town House after another place double booked us.And I am very happy they did!The room was fantastic;very spacious,clean,well kept.kitchen was perfect for our needs(welcome food pack was great)bathroom immaculate.really couldn't fault room 1 at all.But what made this place stand out was the staff.a lovely lady stayed late to show us round after we were delayed,very helpful.Shirley in particular was fantastic at rearranging my mothers emergency flight,taking all the hassle away from us, printing out boarding pass.She was super-thank you Shirley.Having stayed at many places in Douglas, this is by far the BEST!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftyGalHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a very pleasant stay for our family holiday. The room was immaculate and very stylishly presented. The manager took time to introduce us and shoe us around the apartment, and after that we didn't require his or anyone's help for the duration a everything was perfect. The location was fantastic. Douglas seemed good as a base, and had the best selection of bars and restaurants on the island, all within walking distance. Parking was restricted to 2 hours, between 8am-6pm, but this worked ok for us, as we were away before and after those times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon-Sorted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a short break for my 89 year old mother. My 30 year old daughter went along too. The Town House met all our needs and staff were very helpful and gave us many ideas to make our stay a success. They have contacted us since we returned home asking about our stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable including the sofa bed which was very quick and easy to make up. We would all return again.

Room Tip: We needed a walk in shower and easy access to a room for my mother and staff gave us all options to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This lovely modern property starts with a great location and just gets better with all the thoughtful touches. Free international calls to landlines, full kitchen, totally new throughout, combo of modern conveniences and Victorian charm, good TV selection, discounted gym pass,free PlayStation loan, more. As a visitor from the USA, I love this island but many other properties are a bit shabby. This place is 4 star fantastic. By comparison, better than most US Marriott's. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sadly, we only had one night at this beautifully appointed and spectacularly situated hotel. We will certainly be back - to the extent that we are re- arranging our trips for the rest off the year to make sure we do!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSmith1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: The Town House 24 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House is a luxury apart-hotel with self catering facilities within a serviced hotel style environment. If you want the freedom and space to do your own thing but the option to charge meals to your room then The Town House is ideal. We have a prime seafront location in the heart of Douglas, just a short walk to the majority of finance sector businesses and backing onto the main shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing