We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Maur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Maur
Ranked #4 of 16 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just spent a lovely 3-night short break at St Maur. We were able to totally relax and enjoy ourselves from the moment we arrived. There are just so many local walks with beautiful views that we hardly used the car during our stay. Once again the food was excellent, including specially requested local sea bass. We will definitely sample some more of the local fish on our next stay. As always, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel has such a happy atmosphere. Our room was also very light and comfortable. A highlight this time was seeing badgers in the hotel garden after 10pm from our room windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    38
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
159
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just got home from the St Maur and had a very restful stay at the hotel which is located on a quiet road with bus route near to the putting green and close to the seashore. We stayed in room 7 at the top of two flights of stairs. Very quiet and comfortable beds. The family room was spacious and comfortable with en suite bathroom with bath and shower cubicle. Contemporary in furnishings with juliette balcony where we sat and had views over the garden and treetops to the sea. The downstairs furnishings are more on the old fashioned side with plenty pictures/paintings of railway scenes.
The hotel was well maintained, spotlessly clean with beautiful gardens - we enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace with a drink when the weather was good. This is a traditional hotel, serving good food and drinks (portion size was big). Staff were extremely friendly and amenable. Only grumble is that food orders had to be made before 7 pm which I felt was a little too early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, large room with balcony, best food and so much of it and most of all the owners and staff are so welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and this is old fashioned courtesy at its best. Can't recommend it enough

Room Tip: Superior room - great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luthiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have recently returned from a four night break at St Maur. The food was of a very good standard, there was plenty of choice, with something to suit eveyone. We received great service from our waitress Phyll, who was a delight. My husband has a food allergy & nothing was too much trouble for David the owner (& chef), which was really appreciated. Our family room was spacious, spotlessly clean & again, was of a high standard.

St Maur's has a friendly atmosphere & is a well run hotel. We can see why people return year after year & would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Superior Family Room number 7 - spacious with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just returned from our seventh time of staying at the St Maur. Greeted like old friends/valued guests. Food excellent - well cooked using local produce where possible, with a good varied menu to choose from. Service excellent, staff friendly and helpful, many of whom have been working there for many years. Nothing too much trouble. Room very comfortable. This hotel has been family run for many years and they are still as committed as ever to making everyone's stay enjoyable, even if the weather is not as one would hope!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are superior rooms being on the top floor, but if stairs are a problem then there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achilles_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, Wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Yet once again we had a wonderful week despite weather being wet some days. As usual the owner and his staff were friendly and helpful. Food well cooked with fresh vegetables, some from the garden. Room 7 was very clean, with en suite bath and shower, with a superb view of the sea and park. Lots of coffee teas and other beverages to choose from in the room.
We have already booked for next year. Even with the weather not good we found plenty to do apart from driving around,visiting the Zoo, Butterfly farm,Vineyard, Roman villa, and watched the round the island yacht from the hill opposite the house. Then back for drinks.
Never disappointed with this Guest House thank you all from Ann and Geoff Wilson, Margaret and Michael Harris

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a well placed B & B for travelling around the Isle of Wight. Our room was excellent although the stairs are challenging and there is no lift.Somebody will, however, carry up your cases. It was well maintained, serviced and the hospitality tray was well stocked.
The short times for breakfast (8.30 - 9am) and evening meal (6.30 - 7pm) is a little regimented and inflexible. The food was, however, very disappointing. The menus look impressive with 5 courses and a choice. However, we felt much of it was frozen or some products even from a packet. The smoked haddock for breakfast was dry when cooked and obviously frozen - what a crime when the sea is so near. The quality of the produce we didn't find particularly inspiring or tasty. The sauces and gravy were unpalitable. The gravy was so 'gloopy' I had to scrape it off my meal because I couldn't eat it. Perhaps learning a basic gravy recipe using the juices of your roast and plain flour would be a much better option than cornflour which gives it the consistencey of jelly. I didn't venture to try the parsley sauce with the fish. Also the yorkshire puddings were undercooked and very greasy.
The other thing we found uncomfortable were the cackling waitresses - I am not used to listening to peoples' personal affairs being discussed with clients whilst eating my breakfast and discussing management with clients I find an absolute 'no, no'.
I notice from previous reviews that this B & B appears to be 'one of two halves' If you like cheap produced food and noisy waitresses who call you 'darling' then you will find it OK. If like us you enjoy quality food and a relaxing ambience in the dining room this is not for you. It is a pity because there are good features about this place. A separate bar with an honesty box and an excellent selection of drinks is nice as are the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maur

Property: St Maur
Address: Castle Road, Ventnor PO38 1LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Maur 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet, peaceful location St Maur is ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Wight whether walking, using public transport or by car. On our doorstep are many cliff and downland walks and the famous botanical gardens. We offer a relaxed atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff to look after you when you return from your days activities. Local food according to season is used within our menus cooked by owner/chef ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your St Maur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maur Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing