We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in the middle of Ventnor”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Smugglers

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Name plaque Tulse Hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Front of house
Name plaque
Tulse Hill
Lounge
Lounge 2
Wood burner
Original angel door decoration
Dining room
Kitchen
Utility room with washer/dryer and fridge freezer
Master bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Shower room
Garden
Outside dining
Garden view
Garden bench - last sun of the day
Friendly garden dragon
Beach huts - ventnor beach
Ventnor beach west
Ventnor beach east from The Spyglass Inn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lara G
1 review
“Lovely cottage in the middle of Ventnor”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellently equipped and perfectly positioned very near to the town centre. A walk to the seafront took about 10 mins with young children. The cottage was clean, cosy and well laid out. We very much hope to visit again. Ours was a summer break but I can imagine a good winter break staying in this cottage with its log burner, loaded book shelves and comfy sofas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thanks Lara. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards, Alun & Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZCliff73
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage in a perfect location.”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic cottage for our two families, it was just what we needed and more. Typical English weather was not always kind during our visit but the Smugglers Cottage was well equipped with board games and cards, a great touch. Lighting the wood burner, snuggled up in the evenings made our stay even more perfect. Although there is no parking at the property we always found parking spaces in the Free parking Zones not a 5 min walk away. Ventnor is a great location with some fantastic restaurants and if the weather is fine a visit to the Crab shed is a must!! Thanks Alun and Sheelagh, we will be back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Thanks for the review. Sorry the weather wasn't kind to you but glad that you enjoyed the house. Look forward to seeing you again next year. Alun & Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W M
Sheringham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house, quiet but right in the middle of town”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely holiday - the house was warm and cosy with the autumn weather, and really comfortable with good towels, sheets etc. The location is ideal as right near the shops, cafes etc and also easy for the beach / seafront. It's only a short drive to other nice towns like Shanklin, and Ventnor has some great places - we and the kids loved the Botanic Gardens which give free visits all week once you have paid once and have a great playground, lovely gardens and kids' activities. Thanks!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
So glad that you and your family enjoyed the cottage and had some good autumnal weather. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope that we can welcome you back sometime in the future. Sheelagh & Alun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing