We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb views”
other travelers have booked this property
Our View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our View
Decking Lounge/balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Our View
Decking
Lounge/balcony
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Balcony
Our view from the balcony
Rear aspect of cottage
Ventnor Bay
Ventnor Haven & childrens paddling pool
Cooling off in Ventnor bay!
Ventnor cascade gardens
Ventnor
Needles cable car
Shanklin
Arreton church on a winter morning
Godshill model village ' is anyone in there'?
Bembridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom_mk67
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb views”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Such a nice stay at this cottage, excellent location, premium views, we enjoyed sitting on the terrace for dinner. This is a good choice for families - beautiful and easy walks directly from Ventnor.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D C
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely base to explore the IoW”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Overall this is good accommodation for a young family. Our party consisted of two adults and a two yr old.

Ocean view offers comfortable living space where you could relax after a busy day and watch the ocean as night draws in. It is situated on a main road which you do notice in the front bedroom when buses / lorries are going past in the late / early hours. Thankfully our daughter was never woken though :)

There few teething points on arrival were needing to figure out the boiler was switched off (fuse), but only after trying to get hot water out of the taps for a few minutes, and how the shower worked without wanting to break it. This was solved through trial and error, however felt these could have been explained in the welcome pack for a smooth start.

It is a fantastic spot to start from to explore the island. Ventnor is a pleasant town, with some nice restaurants (sadly Fogg's is now closed for day-to-day business) and metro stores for convenience. Our daughter loved the paddling pool at the sea front, whilst the promenade had a few shops to explore if you wanted a break from the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester...
Kettering
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A true gem with stunning views”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is situated at the top of the hill above Ventnor bay which ensures all the views over the town and the sea are stunning. There are two decks, a small one from the patio doors in the lounge and a larger split level one from the lower bedroom level. The owners have provided table and chairs for both so it's lovely to sit out, relax and enjoy the views. The view from the main bedroom is also exceptional and it's great to sit in bed just looking out to sea. The owners have decorated the house to a very high level and its was lovely and clean on arrival. There are nice touches making it a home from home and instructions on how to operate different appliances. The owners are extremely friendly and very accomodating, they really want you to have a great holiday in their home. The house is upside down with the main bathroom and bedrooms downstairs. There is a toilet and well equipped kitchen upstairs, including a freezer, microwave and washing machine. The lounge is very comfortable with free view TV, a games console, books and games and also wi-fi (which is better than ours at home!). If you are thinking about a holiday in Ventnor I would have no hesitation in recommending this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of being home from home, very relaxed and great views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M
1 review
“Very pleasant!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a lovely cottage, well equipped, clean, close to town, Wifi, a definite bonus. Owner helpful. Would visit again!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily P
Benenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views and a great location”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 kids aged 5 and 7) for a week in July this year - the weather was chillier than the average but still sunny and we loved our return trip to the I of W (this is our 4th trip back!) We always seem to return to Ventnor - there's lots to do for the kids and nice beaches and great seafood and ice cream (tips in the visitor book about where to get the best ice cream are spot-on!) The cottage was really clean and well-equipped, also comfy beds and the kids loved the pirate teddy bears decorating their pillows. A good bottle of white in the fridge was also a lovely thought. Someone had even kindly left a DVD of the Lego movie in the cottage which we devoured. The views from the balcony are superb and it's not too far to walk down into town although a short drive if feeling lazy. Possibly not ideal if you had a heavy pram though as Ventnor is pretty steep, but it's a nice walk once you've got off the main road at the top. The kids loved the fact that the house was "upside-down" (bedrooms downstairs) which is quite unusual till you get used to it. All in all, a great find with a superb view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is fantastic.
Liked least: The main road - get ready to hold kids' hands tightly.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
few68
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Secret escape with stunning views to take your breath away !”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This beautiful house with amazing views was the perfect winter get away for us & our 2 teenage girls .This was our first visit to the island in Winter & this fabulous home was just perfect. Waking up to the views of the Solent were breathtaking ! Lovely location for walks on the beach & friendly local pubs . Even a bottle of wine awaiting us on arrival from the most considerate & accomodating owners . Home from home in every way ,immaculately clean & comfortable . We didn't want to leave after our weeks stay . We have found our winter secret escape & will definitely be back .Thank you so much Cathy ,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
432Maggie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place for holiday”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful house with amazing sea views. We loved sunny lounge and master bedroom, enjoyed balcony and terrace. Very clean, nice decorated house and comfortable beds. We had a very relaxing holiday, wish we could stayed longer. Hope we go back there someday. Thank you very much Cathy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing