We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Koala Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koala Cottage
Ranked #6 of 17 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South-East England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was very clean and very comfortable with all the amenities you could need. The bathroom, in particular, is lovely and feels very luxurious. Anne is an excellent host - friendly and welcoming but also gives you your privacy. The location is very handy for getting out and about - we would heartily recommend The Taverners for an evening meal. Anne's breakfasts are very generous and very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I cannot praise Koala cottage enough. Though we only stayed for one night, Anne, who was the perfect host, made us feel very welcome and ensured we were not lacking anything. We stayed in the Ruby suite and found it very comfortable and super clean. We also thought that the décor was really tasteful. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and there was also choice of various cereals and yoghurts as well as fruit. Will I be returning to Koala cottage? Most definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effigy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed for one night in the Saphire room. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Have nothing but praise for the service, location and the breakfast provided.
Really enjoyed staying at the Koala Cottage. If I am ever again at the Isle of Wight, I would book this B&B again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

High end accommodation seems thin on the ground on the IOW so was delighted to find this property. The build quality is very high and although it has been around for some time appears new and very well maintained. The Victoriana theme, though appropriate, may not be to everyone’s taste but we picked it for the spacious accommodation, large bed and walk in shower (there is a roll top bath too). Had never heard of Godshill prior to my visit but it is a beautiful, little village with thatched cottages and as nowhere is that far away on the IOW a good location. The church is well worth a visit but be warned that the village does attract plenty of coach tours during the day. We were out most of the time so avoided the crowds on the whole. The bus service appeared well supported and frequent but there are plenty of eating options in the village itself which is handy. Each room had an outdoor seating area where it was nice to sit out and enjoy our complimentary bottle of wine. Privacy was ensured by full length voiles in each room. We stayed in the Sapphire Room but the rooms are virtually identical so nothing really to choose between them. Anne cooked first class breakfasts - long time since I have eaten scrambled eggs cooked over a bain-marie and the cold platter I chose on our second morning was so huge we were given a doggy bag and finished the rest for our lunch. Two small criticisms - the room was very hot (for some reason the heating was coming on even in June) and there was not much tourist information or advice available. We pretty much knew what we wanted to do but for overseas visitors this may be helpful. Some people may find the breakfast timing rather restrictive too. We have stayed at a number of B&B’s over the years of high quality with prices to match yet this is still at the top of the price range and it is perhaps hard to appreciate what extra you are getting except to say. as I started, there is not much competition in this sector of the market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very, very helpful and understanding manager. Very tasty breakfast, but you have to agree for a time slot (for example 9 am) night before. Rooms are clean and spacious. Very comfortable bed.
Good mobile reception with Vodafone, not so good with EE.
We enjoyed privacy- you are given a key and no more walk through reception etc...

Room Tip: Don't have too high expectations regarding sauna and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were here for the second time and, as always, this place is surprising. Beautiful clean rooms dreams, very good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. We recommend to anyone, here you can relax in comfort. 5 Big Stars

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leszek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night, in the sapphire room, but can not recommend enough. A warm welcome from the outset and the room was amazing. Very clean and comfortable, near to the local village and within walking distance of some good pubs/restaurants. Breakfast was cooked as we sat down and was 1st class. My husband had the full English and I had eggs Benedict. Neither of us had to eat for the rest of the day!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared the same but if I had to have one criticism it was that the room was v v warm ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
3.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#4 of 17 in Ventnor
173 reviews
4.1 mi away
Enchanted Manor
Enchanted Manor
#1 of 1 in Niton
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Cottage

Property: Koala Cottage
Address: Church Hollow | Godshill, Ventnor PO38 3DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Koala Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koala Cottage is a five-star, luxury bed and breakfast in the idyllic, chocolate box, village of Godshill, on the Isle of Wight. Each deluxe suite has its own private entrance and, once inside, facilities include a hand-carved king size bed, private dining area, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk supplied daily, chocolates and wine; while en-suites feature cast iron roll-top baths. Free parking and free Wi-Fi is available, and guests are encouraged to make use of the sauna and jacuzzi on-site. Continental and gourmet country breakfasts are served from local organic produce in the conservatory at Koala Cottage, and there are several excellent restaurants just a moments walk away for lunch and evening meals. Godshill Village plays host to award-winning tea gardens and the famous model village. Excellent beaches are just 15 minutes away by car and those wishing to venture further afield will find the Roman Villas, Carisbrook Castle and Isle of Wight Steam Railway within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Koala Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Cottage Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing