We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly service, great value”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great friendly service, great value”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a quick couple of nights here without the children to celebrate my birthday just before Christmas and were delighted with just about everything - weather excluded! The hotel is in a great location, our room was a good size, clean and with all of the extras that you would expect, well stocked mini bar, Nesspresso machine etc.
we ate in the restaurant on the first night and had the taster menu which was fantastic, pre dinner drinks were had in the lounge next door where the service was great. The breakfast was really good with hangover beating smoothies, fresh yoghurts and fruit as well as really good quality cooked and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! The last thing to mention was the unbelievable value - especially if you only visit for 1 night. We got dinner, bed and breakfast and our ferry crossing for just £99 per head!! I know that this was out of season but still, for somewhere that is likely to regain its Michelin star in 2014 I am still really impressed. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LE65Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have shared your comments with the team and they join me in thanking you for the feedback. Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    77
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
31
234
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was a dark and very wet December weekend that my partner and I decided to escape the pre Christmas stress and treat ourselves to an elegant hotel with a sea view. And this is a gem of a hotel. It is small (more like a restaurant with rooms) and intimate. The Victorian architecture is charming but it is still a modern and spacious. We has a wonderful room (5) which was worth the climb up the narrow stairs. The staff could not have been more helpful, recommending other restaurants and accommodating the demand for more espresso capsules. The restaurant was good, though the food a little fussy but beautifully presented. I would certainly recommend the dining experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easygoingtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We hope to see you back again when in need for a romantic getaway!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Dec 2013, our stay was lovely! Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

We ate at the Pond Restaurant as the hotel restaurant in the hotel wasn't open but the food was amazing, if you have an excuse to visit either DO IT, although I hope they don't get too busy as we intend to return...

Can't wait to go back.


Room 2 had great views!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a perfect stay, everything was superb, staff so friendly and helpful always giving good advice and helping with restaurant booking.
Dinner in hotel was great, amazing food and excellent staff.
Room very quite, comfortable and clean with sea view and full of services.
We will came back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franc01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments! We hope to see you back at the Hambrough soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed here whilst visiting family nearby. We both loved everything about this hotel, location views the room was perfect. An amazing huge bath tub, fabulous breakfasts ( we stayed three nights so sampled all the choices) and very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be back. Our only regret was that we had no opportunity to try the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a nice flight back to Edinburgh and hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent one night for our Wedding anniversary ,amazing staff very helpful, room was so clean.Breakfast was unbelievable my Wife spoke to the Chef asking a question,next morning 2 trays of food arrived in our room.This is a lovely run Hotel and highly recommended.Thank You for a wonderful time.Ronnie & Selda Armstrong

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments which we have shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager and the Hambrough Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A lovley place for a short stay. The rooms are great but it's really about the restaurant and with only 7 rooms it's more of a restaurant with rooms. Fine with us as not much to venture into Bentor for and happily spent a long evening in the restaurant. The staff were excellent, the Italian Maitre'D - Christiano? Amusing and charming. The tasting menu from the sea was absolutely superb and at 6 courses not too heavy. Only gripe was the firewater grappa at the end of the evening was a bit steep at £10 a glass. With a £55 per head menu, a complimentary digestig wouldnt go amiss. A lovely sy and ,eal though

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodos, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We are indeed a AA 5 Star restaurant with rooms, unfortunately Tripadvisor does not distinguish between the two. It is, as you mention, all about the food here at the Hambrough!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Property: The Hambrough
Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing