We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very stylish”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The food was delicious, but this is a review of the hotel... Our room was full of black and purple coloured scatter cushions which created a stylish impression and the large kings sized bed was most welcome. The free WiFi worked well. The location one layer above the beach and the esplanade walks was handy and also close to the town centre. The sea views were nice.

However little things niggled like ordering breakfast before dinner which was bizarre and even then room service was sorely stretched producing the wrong stuff at the wrong time, And the loo was hard work to flush, there was a dead lamp bulb in the bathroom. the shower was a bit feeble, noisy fans whirled away at the back window all night, and when one just wanted the news on TV it involved gymnastics with the DVD and then the TV and then the DVD wands. Phew. The accommodation was not good value for money, but the food made up for that.

How to get there? We came by Catamaran from Portsmouth harbour station and then the old tube train from Ryde Pier to Shanklin and then the number 3 bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    81
    27
    14
    2
See reviews for
31
245
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We decided to stay at The Hambrough after 'roughing' it in a teepee at Bestival for 4 nights.

The hotel is quite small and very much boutique in all aspects. We were greeted instantly by a very attentive host and shown to our room (4).

First impressions were great, lovely view, spacious and modern and also very clean. The bathroom is fabulous with a big free standing bath that overlooks the ocean.

The bed was very comfortable and the window furnishings kept the room dark for a good sleep in. Lovely sheets and plenty of pillows to keep you upright!

Breakfast was included and absolutely delicious. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to die for.

We had dinner at The Pond as the restaurant at The Hambrough was closed being a Monday night. Again, amazing meal. The taxi fares were taken care of as it's their restaurant, very handy.

I would certainly stay here again and would definitely recommend to any of my friends and family. Do yourself a favour!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysturnleft79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and got a fantastic late availability deal through the hotel's website. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed at: relaxed and friendly staff, AMAZING freshly prepared breakfast served in your room (or dining room if you prefer), in-room espresso machine with illy coffee, comfy bed, terrific bathroom, bathrobes, slippers, sumptious bed linen...and then there's the restaurant. The evening started with a glass of bubbles and canapes in the garden room, followed by the most fantastic 3 course menu ever! We were wowed by Robert's creativity and presentation. A truly first class dining experience. We can't wait to come back and book in for the 7 course taster menu!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room, 6 which doesn't have sea-view but was perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Never in a million years did I expect to find a hotel/restaurant as fine as this in Ventnor nor indeed anywhere on the Island! In fact the last good food I found on the Island was years ago at The George in Yarmouth! What can I say, this is style and comfort combined with true Michelin star food! I could rave on and on, but to keep it short, the Rum Baba was out of this world and the Cheese Board the best I have ever seen. They are running a top London hotel here, lucky Islanders I say! If not for this place I don't think I would return to Ventnor to be honest, wish they would open a small Country House Hotel elsewhere on the Island which I would visit all year round with these standards. Go, you will be impressed!

Room Tip: Sea facing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Not cheap but definitly the place to go for a special occasion.
Great position overlooking the sea and very well equipped rooms.
The staff were very pleasant,helpful and really added to the pleasure of the stay.
We had a really memorable meal in the restaurant and look forward to returning at the first excuse.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iangordon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family of three stayed for three days in the most beatifull room with a terracce and sea view. Excellent service and top quality breakfast. Fantastic Michelin star restaurant. We will come back!

Room Tip: we stayed at room no 11 - pick that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birkerodfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend took the unusual step of booking the Hambrough without referencing this place first on trip advisor or other sites. After a booking for ourselves and for ourselves and her parents at a 5 star guest house with a restaurant in the Cotswolds fell through with a week to go (Last Minute.com double-booked us, a dreadful service experience), we took a leap of faith and snapped up the two last rooms and the 4 remaining bookings for dinner at the Hambrough.

Our faith was rewarded, and not only that, I think we just may have had one of the best stay-and-dine experiences in the UK. All four of us are still dreaming up new superlatives to describe the Hambrough experience.

I am sitting here trying to think of what was most stand out. Was it the exciting menu by chef Robert Thompson incorporating local produce, and presented with Michelin flair and finesse? Was it the view of the ocean from the terrace on the sea fronted rooms? Was it the Illy espresso machine in my room? Was it the modernist décor seamlessly integrated into the refurbishment of a Victorian beachouse? Truth be told, it could easily be any of these fine components.

However, I’m going to go with the service, which was attentive and friendly. Most of all, it felt familiar, and easy going. The staff have charm and personality, and made us feel part of their family for only a short one-night stay.

The restaurant is a dining experience that probably serves more attention in London than it currently gets. Not only does this provide relative value for money for this type of cuisine, this is easily deserved of more accolades on the UK dining circuit. To contextualise, I recently ate at the 2 Michelin- starred London restaurant, and felt Thompson’s food was better, or at the very least on par, and at half the price. The flavours are mostly at their best when they were at there most subtle, I found. A delicate rabbit cannelloni paired with an earthier porcini broth was more toned done that you would expect from the description. Bass with seaweed gnocchi and cucumber was surprisingly understated yet brilliant, and a lovely nod to what lies outside the Hambrough’s windows. A chicken with barley and summer truffle, and a haddock chowder amuse bouche rounded out the highlights of a fantastic meal.

The space is clean and enjoyable also, though perhaps a little cramped. This was evidenced by a few of the waiters having trouble clearing ours and other people’s tables. In fact, a few of the waitress weren’t having the best night, and there a few things that went bump in the night. But all in all, the service was saved by their enthusiasm and charm.

Indeed the services to our rooms, were we all ate together in the morning, a fantastic combination of cooked and continental breakfasts all delivered to the room and eaten on the terrace. This allows you to enjoy the spacious rooms and the view to the maximum extent. The beds are huge, as are the bathrooms. It’s really a delightful place to be, and you could really make yourself at home here. One small slight was the pillows were a bit flat and lifeless, but in no way will this effect our recommendation for the Hambrough as a top getaway place from London or abroad.

Is it worth the money? You betcha. Its worth every penny. This delivers food and accom at a vary high standard, without the staleness and impersonal aspects of other 4/5 star guesthouses and hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms with terrace are noticeably more expensive per night, but in my mind, its commensuerate ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lencorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explfood, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
On behalf of myself and the team at The Hambrough we thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback in order to maintain and improve our business. In response to the pillows we are currently sourcing an even more luxurious designer for our guests comfort. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Property: The Hambrough
Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing