We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrasts and Compliments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Reviewed September 18, 2013

To be honest we nearly turned around and went home. The parking was so very difficult and we were stressed after the journey. My advice to you, (in hindsight of course), is take this in your stride, we did find a parking space outside the hotel, and in fact we always did, but you need care and patience to park properly.

Once inside though things started to look up. One important thing to remember you must, ABSOLUTELY MUST, have a room with a balcony and therefore a sea view. Don't even think of not doing this, it is half the joy of the hotel, you will see what I mean, for now just take my word for it.

The room was fine, nothing special, (except for the balcony), it had no bath just a shower, but everything was clean and fresh and quite acceptable. The view was spectacular and the balcony had a New Orleans atmosphere. Yes that's right a New Orleans balcony, with a fabulous view, in the Isle of Wight.

So we went down to the restaurant. A fine room with double doors leading onto the hotels large balcony. If the weather is good this is THE place for pre dinner drinks, Oh my oh my, the atmosphere is divine.

The staff in the restaurant simply could not have been more helpful. Now I know this is a trite phrase and often used when it is not justified, but this time trust me, they could not have been more helpful. The food was varied and well prepared, we had lobster twice during our stay and this dish was well above average. I do not think anyone would want to eat outside of the hotel, we certainly didn't.

Please remember that we are talking about a budget hotel here. I consider it to be quite amazing value for money. All in all a big success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Wellington Friday 13th & Saturday 14th September. This is the second time that we stayed, the first time 8 years ago for my wife's birthday. This time around we paid £112 per room on a bed & breakfast basis, this was for a deluxe double with a sea view. When we stayed 8 years ago, our room was spotless with clean cream carpets and flowers on arrival. Unfortunately it does look as if the hotels carpets need a thorough clean throughout as they are very grubby and stained, even in the bedroom. When we first checked into our room, the lavatory had not been cleaned. This was disappointing as we then wondered what else may have been overlooked. When we brought it to the attention of the receptionist she was apologetic and did sort the problem out immediately.
We did eat at the hotel on both nights. The food, as it was 8 years ago, was very good. Extremely well presented, and the chef very much interested in how the guests day has been and how they have found the food.
The hotel is in an enviable position, overlooking the Ventnor seafront, the food and view being the hotels saving grace. We would stay again but believe that the hotel should urgently undertake a full clean of the carpets

Room Tip: Go for a room with Balcony if possible, however all are very quiet with comfortable beds
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezpot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night before heading to Bestival to camp for the rest of the weekend.

Staff extremely friendly, especially the gentleman in the restaurant, food very reasonably priced, breakfast was lovely.

The room had a lovely balcony with superb views, sparkling clean, lovely white sheets.

I do agree the rooms need a lick of paint, bathrooms need a slight update and carpets on the stairs and hallways need replacing, but apart from those small cosmetic things, it was extremely pleasant and will stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was in much need of a face lift, the outside was untidy litter, overflowing bins and debris piled up at front.There was clearly a lack of house management. the room was fairly clean but the carpets were dirty, We had a fabulous sea view but the balcony rusty and unclean.The stairs to the restaurant were dirty and dangerous as it was coming away from the stair carpet grips. The breakfast was ok but the self service area had food splattered wall! Shame really as the best positioned hotel in Ventnor , we stayed 31 Aug-2 sept 2013 but will not return, very very over price at £120 PER NIGHT !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice receptionist but working with difficult material. My wife is partially disabled and we did not expect the quantity of stairs we would have to negotiate, with poor or non existent handrails. This hotel is not disabled friendly. Even our room had 5 steps up to the ensuite and a partially sunken bath which was difficult for the able bodied. Room was good and clean with a sea view, but only a partially opening window, secured presumably to stop guests climbing out onto the roof - as you do! The breakfast room was more steep flights down to a pleasant sun terrace and restaurant which was entirely self service. Even coffee - go and make it yourself - was in a half warm carafe. Toast was all self service. For this price bracket this was too much, basically a free for all. Food choice was OK but not great. We had a much better breakfast at a budget hotel The Esplanade - see our review - in Clacton. Parking is also a problem, no disabled parking, very limited guest parking, (and we did warn the hotel before we arrived), and I ended up parking in an un-restricted street about 1/3 mile away. Because of the stair problem we had to cancel our 2nd night but the helpful receptionist made no issue about it and understood our problem. We think she generally needs more support from the manager/owner. She also got our late night drinks with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for room with ensuite on same level.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel could do with a make over as it feels a bit stuck in the past. I had a very pleasant stay and the balcony rooms are great as well as having breakfast on the terrace. Unfortunately we had to change rooms every day of our stay, but this was due to the busy period and our last minute booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloTore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fabulous view from our room which also had a large balcony Super Delux room 20! Noisy as it backs onto the stairs which go to the bar, so lots of people going up and down the stairs early in the morning and late at night.

Room was clean and adequate, with the most stunning views. Hotel carpets where dirty and the hotel is general a little tired! The hotel has a relaxed and informal atmosphere, service was friendly, but lacked proper trained staff who could speak good English and who had any knowledge of the menu items. Our bill for a dinner for two was £98 ! very expensive for what we had, the wine was delivered to the table open and wasn't even what we had ordered. The Wellington Lacks style and quality, such a shame because the view really is so perfect, infact for the view we would go back. We would not dine in the hotel, that's for sure. Not because the food was bad but because it is so very over priced!
The hotel has so much potential- Invest some money to smarten it up!

Room Tip: Room 20 or the room above it has a fabulous large balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: $109 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing