We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it changed from a year ago” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has it changed from a year ago”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my letter to the hotel after we stayed there in July 2011. They never replied. I hope that it has improved for the sake of other travellers. If only they had replied this would not have been necessary.

Dear Wellington Hotel

I am sure you would not want to know our comments on your hotel. Some are listed below.

It was the most expensive mistake we have ever made. This is the view of people who have traveled many countries in the world, stayed in everything from YHA to five star hotels, originated in the East End of London and now live in the beautiful Cotswolds.

We feel that you have absolutely no idea how to run a hotel.

Our rooms were near the kitchen. On shutting the door marked 'Fire Door' to stop the smells and noise, I was unpleasantly told by the chef that the Council had visited last week and told him to keep that door open (hard to believe) and it was not really a fire door as it was glass. If one goes into the Travel Lodges all their fire doors are glass. They are simply a safety measure for smoke and drafts. We also saw somebody coming out of the kitchen with a cigarette in his mouth.

The door to the left of our room was also propped open and so was the door down the stairs to the back. Consequently we had the most awful smell of rotting rubbish coming from the waste downstairs.

Regularly late in the evening there was a smell of strong cleaning fluid and the clattering of things in the kitchen. This was because the door was propped open.

When I mentioned the doors to the receptionist she said they should be shut and she would talk to the staff. This made absolutely no difference.

Our friends, who were next door but one to us had a nice room but the chest of drawers looked like one from a dump. They reported it. Somebody came and looked at it and that was the last they heard. (pictures attached)

The breakfast was okay but not a comparison to other hotels of the same star rating. The plates were cold so by the time the food reached the table it was lukewarm. I realise that the kitchen was up one floor but in my company we would have used hot plates with covers on them or fitted a dumb waiter for the staff to collect on the same floor as the dining room.

When my friend ordered scrambled egg, having been ill for a day and not eaten anything, something remotely resembling a dollop of scrambled egg appeared in the middle of a large cold plate. Having been in catering for a number of years I would have dismissed somebody who sent out a plate like this to a customer. It could have been on a smaller warm plate with perhaps a piece or a sprinkle of parsley on it, something to make it look appetizing. On the next table to us were a group of people from the Continent. One of them ordered the same and just sat staring at it when it came. I don't think he could believe his eyes. I had to go over to him and say 'don't think all English hotels are like this because they are not'

On the first morning a gentleman on one of the tables wanted a piece of fried bread for his breakfast. I do not know what happened but he did not get it. He asked for the same the next morning but no success. On checking out he complained that all he wanted was a piece of fried bread but evidently the chef would not do it. In England the chefs produce food the customer wants, not what they want to produce.

We found the girls in the dining room and on reception charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They deserved praise.

The Manager we found disconcerting and rude. His attitude was offensive and not at all nice. A course at charm school would be advisable.

I venture to suggest that the problem here is that people that come and work in this country do not know our ways and requirements. I know it is difficult when they have to communicate in a different language but all the staff spoke very good English so understood everything. It was just the standard provided and the manner, which seriously needs looking at.

Would we come again? Definitely not. The only thing, which made it bearable, was the view (if the smell of the rotting seaweed and people smoking on the bar balcony was not blowing in the wrong direction).

I am sorry to have to write these comments. We have traveled worldwide for the past 20 years and have never needed to complain to anybody anywhere.

We felt so strongly about your hotel that we will pass these comments on to the Tourist Information. Foreign visitors here do not get the right impression.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in November. The hotel was clean, warm and in good decorative repair. It is an old building, period features remain including some rolling floors that added to the charm. Whatever the building lacks the staff more than make up for, pleasant and friendly without being intrusive. We were made to feel almost part of a family than a simple hotel guest, nothing was too much trouble. We can't fault the food either, a large selection available for breakfast along with a cooked breakfast. We stayed in the hotel for dinner on our last night, Carlos had cooked up a taste sensation for us, we are somewhat disappointed with ourselves for not using the hotel for all our meals during our stay. We can imagine parking during the summer months could be a problem as there are very limited spaces. We plan on returning for a longer stay with the whole family next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel was exactly as advertised, a period property set halfway up the hill (Cliff) with wonderful views of the bay and the English Channel.
The room was fine - clean and well decorated. It was warm and a shower that could double as a pressure washer.
By far and away the best bit was the balcony overlooking the sea. I think you are only assured of that if you book superior rooms – its’ well worth doing so. We spent a very relaxed Sunday morning sitting on the balcony watching the world.
The breakfast was fine, you did have the opportunity of eating that on the terrace overlooking the town and the sea but for us there was just too much chill in the October air for that.
Its a great place to explore the island from. The coast road from Ventnor to the Needles is quite spectacular (on a sunny day :-) )

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Superior room, with a sea veiw and a balcony. You will kick yourself if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Oct (low season). The hotel is nice enough and room / bathroom was clean. Booked sea view without balcony, and it was nice to see the sun coming up and watch people surfing in the morning. I think the hotel could experiment with some lower prices for low season, as they only reduce it by a tenner and the hotel only seemed half full. 25% reduction would make it more of a bargain in Oct. Perhaps try and negotiate if you have time! Breakfast was nice, but ate out for dinners because we didn't think there'd be much atmosphere at the hotel as it seemed half empty. Check out Phileas Fogg restaurant 5 mins down the road, which was pretty full, unlike most of the restaurants we passed on the street. So overall, it was ok, slightly expensive for Oct and not a lot of character to the place. Personally I think the hotels in Isle of Wight need to up their game and work on some cheaper deals out of season to keep the people coming over, and keeping the pubs / restaurants / shops and themselves in business.

Room Tip: Spend an extra tenner for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPaulWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a lovely say in room 23 I didn't won't to go out the view is so good from the room. It's very relaxing. The only small problem was parking as there is not enough spaces for the number of rooms but this in no way would put me off staying there again and I can't wait to go back again. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great and the dinner is top class all but a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D999G777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel itself is on a small road with very limited parking, luckily we managed to park but other guests[we heard] had to park in a fee paying public car park,call me tight but after paying £120 per night I would expect free parking,[surely some arrangement with the council?]The room was reasonably large with a good sized wardrobe but no drawers,tea making facilities,flat screen T.V and en suite shower room with good shower!The best thing however was the view!! French doors opened on to a balcony with 2 chairs and small table and the sound of the waves lapping/rolling/crashing [depending on weather] was the best bit! There are steps that lead from the sun terrace to the beach easy on the way down, MUCH harder on the way back!!
The food in the dining room at breakfast was plentiful, both cereals,fruits etc and self service items for a cooked breakfast..we only had one meal in the evening [set meal,3 course] and this was very nice with good service.There are lots of stairs to get to the dining, some of which are steep, not really great if limited mobility. The hotel could do with 'tarting' up a little, cream coloured carpets were dirty and needed a good clean and general maintainance could be stepped up but overall a good hotel, not excellent, but good 3.5 * with a 5* view

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in July - 2 couples for 2 nights. Having been before we made sure we had the seaview and balcony rooms and the weather was fantastic so the view was at its best. We know all about the steepness and the parking difficulties so were fully prepared. We found different staff to our last stay - seemed fine. But then we had breakfast - helpful staff seating us BUT apparently we were expecting too much arriving for breakfast at 0940 - ie expecting to eat. Yes they served it until 10am but the food would not be replenished - so as everything was running out what did we expect!! Other customers were asking for food and the waiter was making nasty comments under his breath. The food that came up was poor. Such a shame - the last time we stayed the sausages were so nice we asked where we could buy them. But this time everything tasted cheap and horrible - and in 2 days we only managed one breakfast as the food ran out earlier the following day. The waiter was very stressed that morning speaking rudely over the phone to somebody in front of us. We felt that our presence was a major inconvenience and we are really sad to know we won't be going back - but our feedback wasn't really of interest to management when we left nor when we retuned their feedback forms. The only thing that kept us going back really was the view - but we noticed this time how tired the hotel has become - the rust on the railings around the balcony - the carpet stains - the tired beds - the stressed staff. We will find somewhere else. As everyone else on tripadvisor seems to particularly rate the staff we must have been very unlucky but all we encountered were rude, surly, snappy, unfriendly, unsmiling. The staff all seemed to be foreign this time - last time the staff were mainly Islanders. We arrived in the best of spirits - we are island lovers - but our trip was a bit spoilt. We'll just have to try The Royal next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventnor hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing