We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great spacious cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kildare

Kildare House - large spacious 18th Centuary Georgian style holiday home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kildare House - large spacious 18th Centuary Georgian style holiday home.
Kitchen with patio door to garden 'Farmhouse' style dining room with wood burner, has additional 8 seater table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Kildare House - large spacious 18th Centuary Georgian style holiday home.
Kitchen with patio door to garden
'Farmhouse' style dining room with wood burner, has additional 8 seater table
Modern family Bathroom with power shower
Master Bedroom
master bedroom with balcony
Enjoy the sun on the master bedroom balcony
The spacious large double bedroom which has plenty of room for a cot if needed.
Large double bedroom with sink on marble surface.
Two large attic beamed rooms with three beds in each (can be zipped to form 1 x double +1 single).
Plenty of space in the attic rooms.
Pets welcome!
Eat 'al fresco; in the courtyard with barbecue.
Enclosed private garden and outdoor seating & BBQ
Local Beach
local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nichola M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spacious cottage”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a week at Kildare cottage with 10 adults and a dog.
It made you feel at home as soon as you opened the door.
Well equipped for self catering ,lots of games and music for wet weather days
Great little garden and a sun trap balcony
Really comfy beds
Good walks nearby
Parking not too bad
Great shop a stones throw away for convenient shopping at reasonable prices
Post office pharmacy a short walk

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatijacqu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Picture-perfect, welcoming family home-from-home”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Kildare's location, at the south of the island, is ideal as a base for exploring all the Isle of Wight has to offer. The house itself is conveniently located in the centre of Niton, with a local convenience store over the road, a unique Post Office by day - Pub by night with meal deals a minute's walk away and of course the beginnings to many gorgeous countryside and beach walks at your disposal.
The house itself is bright and clean, combining rustic charms, bare brickwork and a wood-burner with a modern bathroom (with power shower) and spacious bedrooms.
We were blessed with perfect spring weather and were able to relax in the garden with a barbecue - helped by a well-stocked kitchen and a large fridge to keep our drinks cool.
Exploring the island by car is easy from Kildare's location: the village roads lead West towards Blackgang, the Needles, Freshwater and Yarmouth or easterly up the coast to Shanklin or Ryde.
Kildare is definitely worth a return visit: a perfect place to relax, explore and enjoy a welcome break from a hectic city life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mail447
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great house for a family holiday”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful week at Kildare. The house suited us very well - neither too smart nor too scruffy. We all loved it. The weather was not great, but when it was chilly at night we kept warm with the great wood burner in the dining room. Very well equipped generally, with plenty of cutlery, china and cooking equipment.
The only down points for us were a not very efficent drier (integral to washing machine) so that when weather was wet it was hard to get clothes dry. With four children under 7 (the littlest nearly 2 this was quite a consideration) and a rather grubby barbeque (efficient and nice to use once cleaned up).
We loved Niton and the surrounding area, with excellent footpaths to follow and nice paces to explore. The Norris Family Store was a real boon! We also made very good use of local buses and found the nearby bus stop easy to access.
Families with little children should beware of the often busy road just outside the garden gate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the people in Niton and the Isle of wight generally.
Liked least: bad clothes drying facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky r
1 review
“Great house in lovely location”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

All good - thoroughly recommended. The directions from the ferry were a bit confusing (we don't have a sat nav) but Otherwise everything was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
751tayls7...
Oldbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have had a lovely family holiday at Kildare , the house is very spacious and full of character. We enjoyed nights in cooking our own meals and we also enjoyed eating at the local pub just down from the house. There is a shop just over the road from the house which sells everything you need during your stay at very reasonable prices. Everything is within easy reach .. We all made good use of the free wifi and there are plenty of board games and books to read in the evenings .
All in all a fab house would love to go back one day and would recommend to a friend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela J
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kildare is a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very happy family gathering in Kildare, with three generations present. The house is spacious, comfortable and full of character. The rooms are attractively furnished, and the kitchen in particular is very well fitted. We especially enjoyed the open fire in the sitting room and the wood stove in the dining room.
The well stocked shop over the road supplied all our needs for the week. Niton is a pleasant village with a community atmosphere and is a good centre for exploring the lovely countryside. There are plenty of attractions nearby for all ages to enjoy. We would thoroughly recommend staying at Kildare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drcathyfa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A party of 8 adults and 2 toddlers stayed here for a week and we had a great time. The cottage has 4 large bedrooms with plenty of space for travel cots. We had some lovely evenings self catering in the well equipped kitchen, and could easily all fit around the dining table. The cottage is also only about 50 yards from a nice pub with some good food. We had a few minor queries whilst we were there but the owner was quick to reply to our texts.
There is now wireless internet which worked really well. There is no parking in peak season outside the property but we had no problem parking our 4 cars in a street which you could see from the house and seemed very safe.
We found Niton to be a great base to explore the island from, and would definitely stay here again or recommend to friends if visiting IOW again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing