We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - don't think we could find better for...”
other travelers have booked this property
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway. One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway.
One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
The lovely spacious kitchen with traditional granite tiled floor.
Warm and cosy by the Aga in the winter months, lovely after a bracing walk!
Fully fitted cottage kitchen, with all the equipment you would expect - and more!
Enjoy cooking in the spacious kitchen.
The lounge and dining room are separated by a concealed glass sliding door and curtains for privacy.
Traditional beamed ceiling in the modern and comfortable 25ft lounge.
There is plenty of space to relax.
The sofa extends to a king-size sofa bed to accommodate 2 extra guests. It really is comfortable!
Plenty of Xbox games to keep you occupied.
The dining room easily seats 8. There are plenty of DVDs and games to keep you occupied.
Recently improved and newly decorated.
Table football lifts up to reveal a mini pool table.
Watch the badgers feeding on the patio in the evening. A fabulous sight.
Stunning enclosed private garden, with wild and natural planting to encourage wildlife
Just one of the many patio areas with seating
Lovely lawn with plenty of outside space to explore.
Sunny lawn and play equipment.
Swing, slide and trampoline for younger guests to enjoy.
Lovely lawned areas.
The garden is a haven for birds including Jays and Pheasants.
Squirrel feeding from the nut box outside the kitchen window. You'll also see Jays and pheasants!
The light and airy master bedroom.
The king-size bed and black-out blinds ensures a great night's sleep.
There is room for additional cots if you are travelling with little ones.
Cosy double bedroom.
Well appointed and comfortable double room.
Pretty twin room with full size single beds.
Time for a bedtime story?
A tiny selection of the toys we can supply!
The 160 year old Camellia tree, after which the cottage is named.
A warm welcome awaits on those autumn and winter nights.
16th Century Buddle Inn, once frequented by smugglers, is less than 2 minutes walk away!
St Catherine's Lighthouse. A five minute walk from the cottage. Stunning walks and views abound.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
EllieKell...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic - don't think we could find better for our needs”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well if this place doesnt have it, you dont need it.
We stayed for 3 nights, 4 adults, two dogs and a baby and it was delightful. The cottage is really lovely with a big drive and garden and plenty of space inside. They have pretty much everything could need for all the guests. Dog bowls, biscuits, leads and toys. Baby bottles, plates, spoons, cots, monitors, high chair and tons of fab toys and for us adults a lovely welcome basket with goodies in.
Great local walks, good local pub and lots to see and explore.
We will be back. Thank you! Kelly's & Haywoods

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We try hard to cater for everyone, so we're glad you had everything you needed.
You'll always be very welcome whenever you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
We look forward to seeing you all again. As always you'll be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunflower...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding cottage”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is our second visit to Camellia Cottage - once you've stayed here, it's very difficult to find anywhere on the island that comes anywhere close in terms of comfort, location and that real 'home from home' feeling - hence why John and Louise have so many returning visitors. Everything about the cottage is perfect - the kitchen is beautifully well equipped - it just makes the whole self-catering 'thing' so easy and pleasurable. The beds are incredibly comfortable - we all slept so well! The garden is fantastic - the patio is a real suntrap, and it's so quiet and peaceful - perfect for relaxing with a nice glass of something cool! It's very safe too, and once the gates are shut, we knew we could let our selectively deaf and sometimes daft dog just potter around the garden. During our week we had numerous garden visitors - red squirrels, badgers (of course!), dormice and a very brave pheasant who strutted her stuff one morning. And then of course, there is the position - Niton is a beautiful place, and the walks from the cottage are stunning - highly recommend the walk taking in Knowles Farm and St Catherine's lighthouse. John and Louise are great to deal with - and they made us feel very welcome with some lovely touches - and whilst we didn't encounter any problems during our stay, I know that nothing would have been too much trouble. Thank you John and Louise - we will be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
It's great to have such positive feedback. A true test is if guests want to come back to Camellia Cottage. We very much hope we see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family cottage”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found Camellia Cottage via Baby Boltholes site - we were looking for somewhere that catered for families with babies and was impressed by the equipment available (high chairs, cots with mattresses & bedding, tandem buggy - saves a lot of room in the car), in fact, the only thing we had to bring was the bottle making machine, John & Louise had thought of everything including toiletries and two little stuffed ducks for our kids!

The cottage itself is immaculate and finished to a very high standard. It was so clean we were worried about making a mess of anything. The rooms are large and comfortable but special mention to the kitchen with it's Aga - it keeps the room warm and made quick work of drying baby clothes.

The area itself is secluded so the only thing you're likely to hear are the birds chirping, the garden area is large but this being March we weren't able to use it - during the summer I'm sure it would be fantastic. There is a pub round the corner (that's about it), but this being the Isle of Wight everything is within a 30 minute drive.

Lastly, both John & Louise made us feel very welcome and we'd have no hesitation in recommending their cottage - it really was a perfect getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
We are so pleased you all had a such a fantastic and relaxing holiday. We'd love to welcome you all back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHo0306
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful escape”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cottage suited our family perfectly with 3 generations having plenty of space both inside and out. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything thought of and so many lovely little touches, too. The garden is wonderful and made all the more special with the daily visits from the badgers, red squirrels, pheasant and fox.

The cottage is located close to the coast with so many great walks, local pubs and great activities to keep everyone happy. We would thoroughly recommend this to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obi S
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic retreat, home from home”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited the island many times, first time at Camellia Cottage we immediately felt home from home as soon as we got there, John and Louise have catered for everything, you could not wish for more. If you did wish for something they are at the end of the phone for you. This is my wife's happy place, can't wait to return in April with the Grandchildren and put the food out for the badgers. Perfect place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandgir...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden jewel”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

With our extended family we stayed at the cottage for a new year weekend break, it was great! The cottage was warm and cosy with everything available you could possibly need. Very generous gifts we're waiting for us also. The cottage was still decorated for Christmas which was wonderful, out two grandchildren, 5yr and 2yr old, were spoilt for the amount of lovely toys available for them to play with. Even the dog had treats!
The garden was a great adventure, again with toys and play equipment. The lovely walks to st Catherine's light house and the buddle pub is a stones throw from the cottage.
We would love to book again and definitely recommend to friends and family.
Thank you John and Louise.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing