We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent comfortable but elegant hotel perfect for a romantic break”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We went to the Royal for our first wedding anniversary and could not have asked anything more of a hotel. The room was modern and ever so stylish whilst also providing loads of space and a wonderful view over the perfectly presented hotel grounds and outdoor pool to the sea. All the staff members were attentive and helpful from the check in to check out and the food could only be described as 5 star. I would have no issue recommending this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dozzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 926 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2010

we went to hotel with a company called titan tours 32 in group all looked after very well.
hotel nice and clean, hotel staff very good, food top notch.
rooms all clean and quite, only problem we had to order how evening meal
at breakfast , could not use any other menu we would have paid extra. but no??

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony194015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel has well appointed comfortable rooms pleasant lounges and wonderful food.
Ventnor is the best of the seaside towns in the Isle of Wight and this is the best hotel by far which we have stayed in when visiting this island. Overall it is a very good hotel enhanced by the helpful and friendly staff and the excellent food. I would recommend this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in England.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uptheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel with our 16 yr old son for a quiet, relaxing break with walking and some sightseeing. Ventnor is a lovely, quiet little town with good coastal walking. The welcome from reception staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, exactly as it should be, but seldom encountered these days. All staff in the hotel were good and some really excellent. We ate in the hotel restaurant mornings and evenings and found the food superb and service very good indeed. My husband needs a gluten free diet and having spoken to hotel staff regarding this, they were really helpful and informative both on the phone beforehand and during our stay, so he was able to enjoy a great deal of the excellent food on offer and gluten free bread was available at every meal. We stayed in a double room with garden view and our teenage son was next door. The views were lovely, though the rooms are a little small and the beds only 4'6" which was a bit too cosy. For the price and class of hotel, we felt this should be improved. However, overall we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again. The cliff top gardens were delightful with wonderful views of the coast and out to sea.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

In a stunning location this hotel falls down badly with the decor of the standard rooms. Our room was very small and the furnishing were tired. The bathroom had mould in it and it smelt of damp. We paid a lot of money for this room and I was very disappointed.
The staff were extremely courteous and they did listen when I complained.

It was a real shame because in every other way this hotel is lovely

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Went with husband and two friends for a 3 night stay at this hotel which overlooks the sea in Ventnor. It was a really lovely experience. The hotel is very attractive from the front, beautiful gardens and well lit at night, it wouldn't be out of place in the south of France. The entrance hall is large and attractive and our booking was processed quickly and efficiently. We had two standard rooms facing the sea, beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were a good size and well equipped, but the joy of our stay was the staff and the food. Everybody was well trained, friendly and efficient. The food was as good as I have eaten in the best London restaurants and the menu was interesting and varied. As a non-meat eater I chose the cheese souffle one evening - perfect! and the other vegetarian dishes were equally good. My meat eating husband and friends enjoyed perfectly cooked fillet steaks, amazing lobster and beautifully prepared fish. The desserts were varied and all home made to the highest standard. Would I go there again ... YES!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our third visit to the Royal and it just gets better each time. It is a quintessential English hotel, it feels like stepping back in time to when hotels were about people, attentive service, traditional afternoon tea and morning coffee. The Royal is decorated to a high standard with very comfortable rooms. The food is fantastic and if you have any special dietary needs they will happily cater for you, here the customer is king. If you want whistles and bells, glass and chrome, with incessant background music, then go to a one size fits all chain hotel. However, if you want a rare taste of elegance and high standards the Royal is for you. Five mins from the beach and located at the north of the island it couldn't be better placed. You expect to bump into Bertie Wooster in the bar or Miss Marples in the lounge – wonderful stuff!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
12.3 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: $110 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing