We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with a very good restaurant and efficient unobtrusive staff”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with a very good restaurant and efficient unobtrusive staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We transferred to the Royal Hotel having spent a most unpleasant night in another highly regarded Ventnor hotel. How nice it was to move to a proper hotel that served lovely food, breakfast, tea and dinner on site, rather than forcing guests to trek down a hill into Ventnor to eat. (The Royal Hotel restaurant deservedly has a full entry in the Good Food Guide and is worth a visit even if one is not staying in the hotel)
The staff are excellent, friendly but very efficient and they genuinely try to make one's visit enjoyable. The bedroom we occupied was very comfortable and spacious, well furnished with a couple of arm chairs, a sensibly located TV, dressing table, etc. The room provided bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely sea view. (The establishment we had stayed in the previous night bans tea or coffee or indeed anything but water from its bedrooms!!) The bathroom had both a bath and a shower, soft towels and plentiful toiletries.
The Royal Hotel also offers a decent bar area and lounges. It has attractive grounds and above the car park is a promintory that provides excellent views out to sea. Good for sunset spotting.
The decoration tends to the traditional with modern touches and the decorative condition is very high. (Unlike the carpet in the bedroom of our previous hotel the carpet in The Royal was unstained)
This is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel, managed to the highest standard. The only area we could think of for improvement concerns the prints and artworks on the walls of the dining room. These are old fashioned and hanged rather randomly. We thought that brighter and more contemporary artworks would be a nice addition to the excellent food that is served there. Perhaps I shouldn't have left this until last but the deal on offer for dinner, bed and breakfast was fantastic value- again a huge contrast with the place we had stayed in the night before.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are off a high standard but if you can get one with a sea-view why not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Royal on trip advisor. It's lovely to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind comments you have made. I hope we have the pleasure In welcoming you back next time you're visiting the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    153
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
187
403
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our second weekend break at the Royal. The first time three and a half years ago when we had a fabulous time, and am pleased to say our second stay was even better. We had a beautiful room overlooking the sea, would be perfect in summer, but even in November still lovely. Wonderful food, great service and nothing too much trouble. Thanks to all the staff, we will come back again.

Room Tip: One overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiedives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We're delighted you hear you enjoyed your stay with us during November and look forward to welcoming you back next time you're visiting the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived Friday and found the rooms were very comfortable. Clean and modern bathroom, complete with top quality towels. Great bed and fully adjustable heating. Dinner was top class with perfect service. The staff were 100% accomodating with zero red tape and always smiling. On paying the bill Sunday I was delighted that the extensive bar bill was so reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending The Royal on every score.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal.

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Royal Hotel is probably not going to be to everyone's taste. I have rated it as very good, and thoroughly enjoyed the service and the excellent breakfast, but the rooms felt a little dated (or "full of character" if you prefer).

Having stayed in a few hotels in Ventnor, the Royal rates well against these - but then you do get what you pay for. The staff are impeccably polite, and the breakfast was superb - and for these reasons I enjoyed my stay. However, the hotel is a characterful set of rooms hidden around corners, and off cul-de-sac corridors. Great if you like the old fashioned dark wood, and dislike the identical doors and straight corridors of modern hotels. The flip side of this is that while there is a truely antique lift, you still need to negotiate a few steps with your bags in order to get to many rooms.

The bedroom itself was on the small side, although it managed to cram in a flat screen TV (with freeview) and a wardrobe alongside the Kingsize bed. The heating certainly worked VERY well on the cold night we stayed. One minor criticism was finding a few strands of the previous occupant's long black hairs around the room and in the bathroom.

In a sop to the 21st century, the hotel does offer internet and free wifi in the public areas (and just about into the rooms).

A small car park is available opposite the hotel, while the larger car park is tucked around the back of the hotel a couple of minutes walk away. The drive in/drive out entrance means you can drop your passengers and luggage at the front door to cut out the walk.

Do be aware that there is a dress code for the restaurant. Sadly I didn't get to eat dinner in the Royal on this trip, but will return for dinner sometime in the future.

The Royal's location is high up on the cliff above town - and if the weather had been better, the views would have been superb. However the walk to the beach is steep and not for those unsteady on their feet, unless you choose to walk the long way through town (but to be fair, Ventnor is not a flat town!) The hotel location is a convenient 5 minute walk to the town centre and the nearest public transport, or a flat 10 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens.

For a treat and to feel special, The Royal definitely offers a traditional experience. For me the jury is out whether I would come back, or if I prefer a more modern alternative. Never say never though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our wonderful hotel. We value all of our customers feedback. We are very proud to have such a grand old building which is most definitely full of character. Most of our rooms are accessible using the lift but some rooms do require our guests to negotiate a few stairs and our Porters are always available to help with those heavy bags. I have passed on your comments to our head housekeeper and can only apologise for the stray hairs. We do offer free parking at the hotel but unfortunately our large car park is situated at the rear of the hotel and does require a short walk back around to the entrance.
If there is anything further you would like to discuss regarding your stay with us please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were involved in a group festival at the Royal for a weekend this year. The weather was terrible, very wet and miserable, but the staff brought more than a ray of sunlight - they were warm and welcoming throughout, really excellent. From a review of the advance menus, the fare seemed unusual but, in the event, proved to be a very exciting experience. Overall, a very pleasant stay - well done, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your group festival at The Royal and hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back (hopefully when the weather's slightly better!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel.
Well positioned, close to the beach.
The restaurant....Superb dinner!
Breakfast....Excellent.
Very good service.
Loved our stay, the staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed to much! The food is absolutely delicious...First class.
The suite was a little small, however, very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful view over the gardens and swimming pool and beyond...The ocean... Dream Time!

Room Tip: Check if the hotel are hosting a wedding prior to your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

An old fashioned, but suitably modern, sea-side hotel with attention to detail and staff to a level rarely experienced at any price level these days. Friendly, courteous and efficient throughout the stay. The front facing room at the west end was quiet and spacious and had just been refurbished.
In reasonable weather it's a delight to sit on the terrace for afternoon tea, or drinks around dinner time. This hotel is a credit to those responsible for maintaining standards and motivating staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
826 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing