We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a special place. We have visited her for Bed, Breakfast and evening meal twice, for afternoon tea and also just for a evening meal and each time have found the place, comfortable, of a very high standard, but most of all very friendly.

Yesterday evening we went for a evening meal for a very special occasion. The new chef surpassed himself, the food was the best we have had yet.

If you want something for a special occasion, make a trip here and enjoy, either lunch, afternoon tea or dinner, I am sure you will not be disappointed. The food is worthy of Michelin star status and was a picture on a plate. Do give it a try.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbones51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always very rewarding for the staff, and particularly our new Chef, Steven Harris, when people like yourselves give such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 945 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently took my parents to The Royal Hotel. We were overwhelmed with the ambiance, perfectly groomed gardens, friendly and efficient staff, but most of all the delicious food.
On the second night, we ate in the fine dining restaurant, which is worthy of a Michelin Star.
However the highlight was the "Royal Tea"- dainty cakes that melt in your mouth, the best scones I have ever tasted, homemade jam from strawberries grown at the hotel, all served with style and elegance.
We have booked to come back for New Year. The staff are clearly trained to a high level. The service is as good as it gets and I have stayed in some of the worlds finest hotels. The Royal matches the best but in a friendly, unpretentious way.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Its really great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience, and we really look forward to seeing you again for the New Year break, details of which will be featured soon on the website! (It will be similar to previous years and is a great way to celebrate the New Year without having all the hassle of taxis, babysitters, and over booked restaurants!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

must thank you again for a great time,the food & service were excellant & the afternoon tea a real treat.our room had the most wonderfull view and was very clean.after dinner in the bar with your friendly waiters made us very relaxed and comfortable.
cant wait till the summer to be back again,thanks as always for making the customer feel so special

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review - we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Royal is in a lovely location within walking distance to the beach. Friendly and helpful staff, especially in the dining room where the food is very good with a good selection for breakfast.
Rooms are large and clean and there is a nice bar area with settees to relax with a drink.
I would definitly stay at this hotel again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokomo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

An annual weekend away for a mum and her three daughters. Destination: Isle of Wight. What are the must-dos? A magazine article detailed the afternoon tea experience at The Royal Hotel Ventnor. An experience we did not want to miss. So, for a weekend break at end of April, we booked a table for luxury afternoon tea back in January.
The weekend was progressing superbly (IOW is a lovely weekend destination) and the anticipation of the afternoon tea was building. We were ready to be spoilt.
We arrived at the hotel on a sunny Saturday afternoon. We parked in the adjoining car park and entered the hotel. No warming welcome from staff. We explained we had a reservation and were offered the choice of two tables. We picked a table in the corner beside the window. Although the table for set for three people, the waiter said he would add another setting immediately. No sooner had we chosen this table, we were told by another waiter that it was taken and instead were directed to two small circular tables (placed side by side) right beside the front door, with its accompanying cold draught. It was also immediately adjacent to a large table of noisy (presumably lunch) guests. Hardly conducive to a quiet, refined afternoon tea experience. To say we were less than impressed was an understatement. We asked the staff to leave us to consider our options. We had booked this afternoon tea experience THREE months in advance. We did not expect to be shoe-horned around two small tables in a main thoroughfare.
Sensing our disappointment, we were approached by a member of staff who said they would set up a table in a quiet area up a little flight of stairs from the main reception. We agreed this was a satisfactory solution.
Table linen was set and we were directed to our new seats. The waiter then proceeded to move the crockery from the two circular tables to the upper area piece by piece. Does the hotel not have enough crockery to completely lay the table from supplies before moving guests?
The waiter then asked for our tea choice – no tea or food menu was offered for our consideration. This was all the more surprising as, at time of booking, we had to confirm the type of afternoon tea we wanted (e.g royal/savoury/champagne) and now we were being asked for our choice of drinking tea on the day without any menu. Part of the afternoon tea experience is the anticipation of what is coming. On another weekend away, we had experienced the afternoon tea experience at Claridges. We did not expect Claridges standard, but we did expect better service than the local coffee shop.
The tea and sandwiches arrived. Tea pots / crockery (suspect not fine bone crockery) were not scrupulously clean and the sandwiches were not the daintiest, but these were minor criticisms. The fact that some of the dishes were removed from the table whilst one of the guests was still eating was inexcusable. On the subject of crockery, we were disappointed in the cleanliness but also the style of the crockery. Plain white crockery – a world away from the beautiful antique-style china used in the online advertising. A stark contrast to, for example, the use of crockery to brand and really add occasion to afternoon tea, as used at Claridges. One should feel that this is more than a nice cup of tea in a nice establishment. Another surprising observation was the lack of pianist for afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon.
We must be clear that this review does not find fault with the quality of the food, it is the lack of service.
Since this disappointing experience of the level of service we have read the reviews online and appreciate this negative review will prompt a defensive response from the manager. In such a position, perhaps the less said the better. Feedback should be respectfully received and considered.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank stillwaters77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

It is always a matter of huge disappointment to us when one of our guests feels so let down. Very occasionally we can get things wrong and when we do we always go the extra mile to put matters right. On this occasion we feel your review is unfair and misleading.

A member of our staff did seat your party at the wrong table which we apologise for. You were then re-seated at two round tables which you say were unsuitable for four people. ''Shoe Horned around two small tables''. We invite trip advisor readers to look at the single table situated on the Terrace looking out to sea under the traveller photo section. It is this table that you refer too. Two tables of this size were pushed together and in our opinion provided plenty of space.

The management immediately noticed that you felt uncomfortable close to the large party who were enjoying themselves like so many others that day and that you wanted to be moved. You were immediately offered another table in our top lounge. We invite Trip Advisor Viewers to look at the photo under traveller photos labelled Private Dinning Room. We thought you would be happy here.

You then refer to the crockery you had seen on our web site and how this differed from the white bone china which is also on our website. The former was used for a ''Revival Weekend'' but the white Bone China we usually use is clearly identified in several areas throughout our website. We apologise that this disappointed you.

You mention Claridges whose afternoon tea sells for £57 whilst ours sells for £20. We believe that our offering represents excellent value and that 99% of our guests say the food offering is outstanding. In fact you yourself describe our Afternoon Tea as ''Fabulous''.

It is normal to clear the savoury plates so that clients can enjoy our ''Dainty Cakes'' and Scones. The two members of staff who were looking after you only cleared plates when you had finished eating your sandwiches, so we feel your remarks are not accurate or fair.

You say that the service was ''like the local coffee shop and that the crockery was not scrupulously clean'' You made no mention of this at the time and ate all your tea. We pride ourselves on having a 5 star rating for hygiene, the highest you can get.

Trip Advisor allows you to say whatever you like, but we in turn are allowed to present our side of the events. Our staff did everything possible to make this a special experience for you. We are sorry we failed but we would ask members of the public to measure your review with what other guests have to say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary from the moment we walked in we were greeted with a pleasant smile and welcome from all staff. The room we booked was extrenely comfortable clean and well decorated. The food was presented well on the plates and tasted wonderful. It was also nice to sit in the gardens and have a drink in the late aternoon. Will definitely return and recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We had room 31 overlooking lawns with a beatiful seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, and for the privilege of allowing us to serve you on your special day. We hope that you will enjoy many more such celebrations and that we shall have the opportunity of sharing some of them with you.

Congratulations on your wonderful achievement and good fortune and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our ten year wedding anniversary with a meal at the beautiful Royal Hotel in Ventnor. We have visited before but we were keen to see what the new head chef was like, I'm delighted to report its better than ever.

If you're looking for fine dining but at a reasonable price the Royal is for you. I must also urge you to try the deconstructed rhubarb crumble, its heavenly.

Very well done to the whole team there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary. We are really pleased that you to chose to celebrate with us and totally agree that the 'de-constructed rhubarb crumble' is divine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: $137 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing