We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay- like stepping back in time”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay- like stepping back in time”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Slightly difficult to find, good thing it was winter not so much traffic on the roads plenty of parking spaces. When we arrived the staff were ready to greet us, Nice entrance big and spacious and nicely decorated with lots of Black & white photos on the walls, very 1950,s. We chose the garden & Sea view room. Nice view but we chose the coldest Feb to visit the room was Drafty due to old sash windows, which we could not close. Room was OK, Tea & coffee in room was a little limited, could have done with more milk. No Wi Fi in the rooms, bit of a problem when its cold outside and you want to chill an hours before dinner. TV flat screen but very small could not see it from the bed. Although the food was good, the menu was the same for the 3 days we were there, so we tried most of it! I would have been bored of the same food if we stayed longer. Breakfast was nice full English which was large portions, or Continental, kippers & Eggs Benedick, which was very nice.
In all OK but not quite worth the money we paid! Recommend you visit in the summer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are fortunate to enjoy the special character of our Georgian gem on the South Coast. We have a constant program of refurbishment but with a building built in 1832, we will never quite be a "state of the art" establishment. Nonetheless, we take on board your comments, and the windows in your room have now been scheduled to be upgraded.

We are gradually rolling our free Wi-Fi access across the hotel. It is already available in all of the public areas and in most of the rooms. It is really bad luck that you were in a room where the coverage wasn't so good. However, we know we need to work on this and we are making changes.

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We're really pleased that you enjoyed our very special atmosphere. Do let us know if you manage to come back in the summer. We'll try to do even better next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    152
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
185
400
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here & had a lovely time. The staff were friendly, the food good and the service excellent. We had 'cake o'clock', a cream tea & dinner one evening and all were extremely good. Yes, some of the windows are a little draughty but the hotel has a lovely old-style charm about it and its peaceful and quiet, the food quality very good and the staff excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a garden view which means you can also see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are not rich and normally stay at the lower value hotels, but this was a wedding present. On first impressions the hotel looked spectacular very impressive and lots of parking spaces. Our chosen room was overlooking the sea and garden views, I'm sure it would be great in the summer, but on the coldest February it was a bit bleak, Unfortunately with the hotel being so old it had its drawbacks of old sash windows' which were very draughty, we used the spare blanket to stop the wind blowing in it was OK. But I guess if we had paid £250 a night it's not what you expect. The friendly staff and excellent food made the weekend worth while. The chief did an excellent job with every dish of food turned out with pride and attention. (Defiantly visit for the food! ). Bar prices were high, but again you are paying for the luxury hotel experience.

Room Tip: The garden & sea view room is great, but go when the sun is out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came here for Afternoon Tea, there were 6 of us, and we were seated in the conservatory at the front of the Hotel (opening doors creating an arctic blast unfortunately) ... When tea was served 3 teapots were brought out (1 between 2 people I assume) yet only 2 plates with tiny sandwiches on and 2 cake stands with scones and a selection of cakes that were sadly for us mostly carrot cake!!! We didn't really understand the logic as we paid £20 a head and seemed to not get what we had paid for? Surely a cake stand between 2 people is what you pay for? Chalked down to experience and frankly £20 for 2tiny cheese and pickle sandwiches a scone and a coffee macaroon and tiny carrot cake s not good value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank generallee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are really sorry that you had a disappointing experience, but we think on this occasion your criticism is unjustified.

In your review you said that “there were 6 of us” and “we paid £20 a head”. However, in your emails to me you admitted that two people “were sharing making the paid for numbers 5 not 6”.
In your review you said you were charged “£20 for 2tiny cheese and pickle sandwiches a scone and a coffee macaroon and tiny carrot cake”. However, we always serve four types of sandwich with each order and in your emails to me you acknowledged that you also had “2 choc cakes 3 Victoria sponges 2 raspberry cakes a lemon cake and 2 coffee macaroons. And scones of course”. This was in addition to the carrot cake that you apparently disliked so much that “we ended up taking 6 of these (carrot cakes) home as no body likes carrot cake”!

We served scones, four kinds of sandwiches and six kinds of cakes with your Afternoon Tea. Even though six of you were sharing you only paid for five and there was still enough food left over for you to talk half a dozen cakes home with you. We think that’s pretty good value!

Of course we’re always disappointed if we get a negative review, but we respect that everyone has their own opinion and we’re big enough to take it on the chin. Reviews like yours leave us rather baffled and a little sad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Royal. The hotel is lovely, the staff friendly and the rooms clean - if not a little too small. The hotel has a bar with a lovely open fire - for winter. For the summer it has an outdoor pool, however in February, it's too cold to swim in! Overall a postive experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal several times and have come to love it's faded grandeur. However, this time it was more faded than grand. The upgraded room gave us a fabulous view, but for the price we didn't expect to be stuffing tissues in the wndow to block out the draughts. We also expected the room to be vacuumed and the bath cleaned! Sadly there was a new chef, and the fine dining we had previously experienced was just so disappointing - pork withought crackling, luke warm soup, cold creme brulee, undercooked vegetables - and quite a limited choice. The staff remain fabulous, Diane and Annabelle, Phillip and the bar staff, but standards have dropped below acceptable and the food is just not good enough. We will have to think long and hard about coming back.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room and onthe 2nd floor for the best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review. We are hugely disappointed you felt that your recent stay with us fell short of your previous experiences. We only wish that you had made mention of this to us before you left, so that our "fabulous" staff might have had the opportunity to make sure that your stay was truly outstanding.

For the last 15 years we have held 2 AA Rosettes for excellent food. But this Grand Old Lady certainly does not rest on her laurels and her charms are far from faded! Our new Head Chef comes to us with a track record of outstanding achievements (his last restaurant earned a place in the Top 50 of the Sunday Times Food List 2012) and even greater ambitions for the Royal. The menu has been designed to showcase the very best local produce featuring seasonal and flavoursome ingredients.

Our TripAdvisor photo gallery shows the dish that you mentioned "Roasted fillet of pork, crisp belly, fine apple tart, winter cabbage, butternut squash, crackling, pork jus". The vast majority of guests who have tried it have assured us that it tastes every bit as delicious as it looks! The dish has been constructed to highlight the contrast between the succulent fillet of pork set against the crispy pork belly, perfectly accented and adorned with beautifully presented pork crackling and jus.

We hope that our elegant cuisine will appeal to all of our guests, but we appreciate that everyone is different. When guests tell us that they have a particular preference, our staff will bend over backwards to satisfy even the most demanding palate.

We are sorry that you found your room drafty. If only you had told us at the time we could have offered you an alternative - most of our rooms enjoy the same "fabulous view". Our building dates from 1832, so we are constantly seeking to improve and refurbish, whilst maintaining our unique character. In fact, the windows in your room are in the process of being replaced, so in that sense perhaps the timing of your stay was unfortunate. However, we can tell you that our loyal housekeeping staff have been with us for very many years. They are scrupulous in making sure that all rooms are thoroughly vacuumed and cleaned before any new guests arrive.

We hope very much that you will return in the future. It is the goal of all of our staff to ensure that anyone who stays with us enjoys exceptional service. We are grateful to all those who are generous enough to offer us criticism so that we may become even better in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An over night B&B with evening meal. A special get together of old friends. Superb atmosphere. The lounge and bar are tradional hotel style and standard just like hotels used to be. immaculately uniformed staff with a very professional yet friendly and helpful manner. Excellent food and service.
What a hotel should be.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front the views are better and the location has very low traffic past i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tycotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing