We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Ridge

LOUNGE WITH WONDERFUL SEA VIEW
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOUNGE WITH WONDERFUL SEA VIEW
FRONT WITH DECKED SEATING AREA TO THE SIDE SEA VIEW OUT
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
LOUNGE WITH WONDERFUL SEA VIEW
FRONT WITH DECKED SEATING AREA TO THE SIDE
SEA VIEW OUT
WHEELERS BAY
LOUNGE WITH LEATHER SOFA
Kitchen
Ventnor beach
Master bedroom
2nd bedroom
3rd bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I with our little dog stayed in Sunset Ridge for one week at the beginning of July 2017.
Sunset Ridge is clean, comfortable and very well equipped if just a little dated in style. There has obviously been money invested recently in the form of a new bathroom which is a very good size for this type of property as it includes a bath (with shower over).
The kitchen seems new and incorporates a built in oven with ceramic hob over; microwave and under-counter fridge. There is probably enough crockery and cutlery to accommodate a pretty large family plus a couple of visitors!
If you have little ones then there seemed to be quite a lot of toys etc., to keep them occupied.
The double bed has a memory foam mattress which I didn't think I would like but I had some very good nights which is a bonus for me as an insomniac. The bed linen was spotless which was a big improvement on some places we have stayed.
Towels and kitchen towels are not provided but as we always take our own anyway this was not a problem.
Electricity is by coin operated meter: you need the new £1 coin or the £2 coin. When we arrived there was £1.38 on the meter. We put in £2.00 on arrival and we think another £1.00 but it might have been £2.00 during the week. There was still over £1.00 in credit when we left which is very good value.
The view of the English Channel from Sunset Ridge is wonderful and as others have already said, it is lovely to wake to the sound of the waves lapping against the shore or to sit and watch the yachts and the ferries passing.
There is a good walk into Ventnor and another in the opposite direction to beautiful Bonchurch.
I think the thing that impressed me most was the peace and quiet of the location and as we were escaping from the Goodwood Festival of Speed that suited us down to the ground.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you ever so much for taking time to share your thoughts. I am so pleased you had some peace and quiet that you needed and some good nights too. I have a lot of regular customers that come and stay and it gives me pleasure in providing people with a break when they need it. With thanks and best wishes Haylie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali07Lond...
London
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great location with an excellent view”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in one of the other villas that Haylie manages. The villa was well equipped with three comfy bedrooms. The shower was nice and powerful and enough hot water for all 6 of us to shower each morning. As a group of 6 for half the week we were very comfortable and it was a pleasant walk into Ventnor. There is private parking and a good amount of space as we took two cars. The kitchen had everything we needed to make breakfast and meals.
Very secure for the dogs and we found it very quiet. Just the occasional seagull!!!
Good value for money - would definitely recommend this property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and ease of getting around the island and in and out of Ventnor
Liked least: wi fi was somewhat intermittent which was a bit frustrating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Have just seen your reiview, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to help you again.

With many thanks for reviewing!
Haylie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
housebudd
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Who wants to lie in bed listening to the sea lapping at night and then get up in the morning and just sit and watch the sea amid beautiful scenery? That's what you get at Sunset Ridge-we loved it! Everything you need is provided in the property, parking outside and most importantly....peace and quiet! Great to find a place that takes dogs in such a good location and not looking like a tip inside (we've found plenty like that). We'll definately be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The electricity meter!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and sea view
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing