We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
Royal Marine House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Royal Marine House
View to the West Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Royal Marine House
View to the West
Patio
Lounge
Kitchen/Dining
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Shower Room
Entrance Hall
View of Haven
View to West
View of The Spyglass Inn
View to East
View to South
Panoramic View
Ventnor from the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely, comfortable apartment - a great place to come back to every afternoon to relax after a day out. The sea view is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna J
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent apartment with a fantastic view”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our weeks stay in the ground floor apartment in Royal Marine House. It is well equipped, in a great location and has fantastic views of the sea - we could not have asked for more. We also had lovely sunny weather (apart from one day) so took full advantage of the little terrace outside which is a suntrap and very private even though it is at the front of the property. We would stay at the apartment again in a heart beat :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val J
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped with a brilliant view”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our week here. We were glad we had the ground floor flat as the weather was wonderful so we could use the patio and enjoy breakfast outside admiring the view. The parking is a little tricky as the access is narrow and the turning space tight but we managed fine. Spoiled for choice with the many places to eat out but would particularly recommend The Ale & Oyster.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
1 review
“A modern, clean, well appointed and comfortable flat in an ideal location.”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed four nights in Ventnor at the Royal Marine House, which is five minutes' walk from the main street with its various cafes, Co-Op and PO. Also Boots, which is where the main buses stop for travelling around the island. If you're relying on public transport, as we were, the location could hardly be improved upon. The beach is a slightly longer walk, down a winding road. If you don't like marching up and down hills, probably the Isle isn't for you anyway ;)

The flat itself was surprisingly well furnished, clean and spacious. There is no bathtub, but the walk-in shower is powerful and refreshing. Washing machine, hob etc. works perfectly. There's a space to hang out washing behind the building, shared (I think) with the upper floor flats.

We couldn't get the cassette player to work while we were there, which was only a shame for nostalgic reasons. The owner (or previous guests) left a selection of 1970s Country music.

The road is quiet most of the time, though you do need to be careful of the one-way traffic, especially with young children. Just use common sense.


Royal Marine House is likely to be our first choice in Ventnor, for the price I can't imagine better.

Our 4-year old didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, facilities and location
Liked least: Couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82kjc
1 review
“Lovely tranquil spot, great for island exploring.”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Clean and modern apartment with good facilities. Close to the beach which is accessible by steps or a slope. Only thing to note is the driveway is quite steep and anything bigger than a small/medium SUV would struggle with parking and maneuvering. Administration was excellent and would thoroughly recommend. Lovely week - many thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermintrud...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful views”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely two day break at Royal Marine House. The location is perfect with the town and sea withing walking distance. Well equipped and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnyjohn
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A flat with a beautiful view”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We arrived at flat tired and needing some rest. We walked in and found a fantastic view over the sea. The flat is quite central with easy access to local buses. It had all equipment we required. The bed was so comfortable we slept really well. We went at the end of April which was extremely cold, we even had snow, hails stones and thunder. The flat had central heating which kept us cosy when when returning from a great day out in the beautiful Isle of Wight.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing