We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house”

Review of Bermuda House

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Bermuda House from the Road Front Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Bermuda House from the Road
Front Living Room
Back Living Room
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
Kitchen / Diner
1st floor front double bedroom
Ist floor rear bedroom
2nd floor front double en-suite bedroom
2nd floor twin bedroom
2nd Floor front single bedroom
Bermuda House
Bermuda House Garden
Bermuda House was Edward Elgar's honeymoon destination
Ventnor Cascade just below Bermuda House
Between Bermuda House and the beach
Ventnor Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4ofususua...
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We are​ a family with 2 young children and stayed here with 2 more adults and their little girl. This house was simply perfect, a credit to John. I am quite fussy when it comes to cleanliness etc but this house I could pick no fault. It was immaculate. It had everything you could possibly want/need. We stayed on the top floor with our boys and in the evenings it was lovely to sit in the 2 relaxing chairs by our window and look out to the sea. It is a 5 minute nice walk to a supermarket, there is a lovely Chinese also a 5 minute walk, a boots, an ice cream shop.....ventnor is very centrally situated, we explored the island and never had to drive more than 30 mins to get anywhere, mostly only driving 15-20 minutes. There is adequate parking for 2 cars directly outside the house, with a sign telling you where to park so your space is always waiting for you after your day out. The beach itself wasn't the best sandy beach but this did not matter at all as it was still lovely to walk along the path next to the sea and if the children wanted a beach to play on we'd hop in the car and drive to shanklin which is a 10-15 short drive, miles of coastline and plenty of things to keep the family entertained all day and evening. If we visited isle of Wight again we would definitely be staying here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mish M
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautifully maintained property wonderful location .The property is situated within walking distance from the sea and local shops like Tesco and Spar which is ideal for self catering needs.Would definitely will use again probably during summer months

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsbeetle...
Suffolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dream home”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the Isle of Wight, we stayed at Bermuda house for the week. We all felt it was a house we would love to own, we really felt at home. The original Victorian ceiling roses and plasterwork were amazing. The stairs will keep you fit being over 4 floors but that just added to the experience. The kitchen has everything you could want. The views from the front windows over the bay were spectacular, particularly on the day we left as the wind hand picked up and the waves were crashing in. The Island itself is was better than we could have hoped, so much beautiful landscape, so much to do, beautiful beaches and bays. It reminded us a little of Mediterranean France whilst being distinctively British. Lastly a big thank you to John for being so helpful and so accommodating. Oh yes and mattresses were so comfortable and bedding of good quality, this makes such a change!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and comfort of the house
Liked least: The travel cot and high chair need replacing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo8888
kent, uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was or second visit to this beautiful house. Great for a family get away. The house is great for socialising with plenty of room. Very well equipped with plenty of everything! We loved sitting looking out of the sea and were only a few minutes walk to our favourite pub the 'spyglass inn'. Ventnor has plenty for families and we will definitely be back!! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal house for what we was after, comfy, well equipped and great location”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The booking process was very easy and the owner couldn't of been more helpful.
We found the property to be ideal for our needs, there were 6 adults and 3 children. It had a warm lived in feel to it. It was very well equipped with the kitchen having plenty of plates, bowls, glasses etc as well as some plastic plates and cups! The views from the lounge and upstairs bedroom were stunning!
The location was excellent with a park round the corner and a 5 minute walk into the town and beach area.
I think the best thing was the addition of the ensuite bathroom. We definitely benefitted from this place being a 3 bathroom place.
The worst thing was probably the tumble dryer, it was awkward to use since the door kept popping open so it took a lot of trips to the basement to get the clothes dry.....yep if that is all I have to moan about I think I had a very good holiday too!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2014
I'm glad you had a good stay but sorry about the tumble dryer - When I inspected the house after Easter I found an unreported problem with the door, so I replaced the Washer/Dryer with a new Bosch one on 28th April. I am not aware of problems since then, so I think you must have been there in April(not unusually for a house sleeping 10, your name is not on the booking so I can't verify the date). I do endeavour to put faults right as soon as they are reported to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobnMel
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book now this place is going to get very popular!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place is amazing, its enormous and I can't believe we got it for the price!
We booked it for a family wedding as there was plenty of bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. With the cost spread between 5 of us it was much cheaper than a hotel. The owner John was brilliant and went out of his way to help, even giving us a preview tour of the house as he happened to be in residence at the time. It is decorated in a clean contemporary (Ikea) styleand with 2 living rooms and a kitchen diner that takes the whole of the ground floor there is plenty of space to spread out. The house is at the top of the cliff overlooking the beach and on the corner of the high street into town, no car needed once you are there if all you want to do is chill. Mind you just sitting in the bedroom window looking at the view was enough for me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price and position
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing