We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely could win a Michelin star”

Hillside Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 63 Restaurants in Ventnor
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hillside Restaurant offers fine European dining with a Scandinavian twist, made of our own and local produce - freshly prepared and presented in menus which change frequently - giving a choice of 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts. Great vegetarian options. Hillside gives a warm welcome whether you are on your own or in a group. Dinner is served in the restaurant between 7pm and 8pm. Please feel free to arrive earlier to enjoy Hillside and the surroundings for a pre-dinner drink in our sitting room, conservatory or terrace. Hillside Restaurant has an extensive wine list carefully priced. Whether a couple or a larger group, it's a wonderful place to enjoy a delicious meal in a lovely setting with far reaching sea views. Booking is essential as the restaurant can get busy with locals.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surely could win a Michelin star”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cozy bar, plain dining room but who cares. The food, wine and service were superb. Outstanding value for money

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilWragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    11
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Day 2”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having pre booked here some time before our honeymoon we were slightly disconcerted to discover the booking had been mislaid when we arrived.
The owner Gert could not have been more helpful however. He asked us to come in and have a glass of wine whilst he spoke to the Chef to see what they could do.
What followed was a wonderful meal including the best Sole I have eaten. Very impressed with tis establishment we will be staying here in the future. Booked aa table at their Bistro in Ventnor for Thursday so we will see how that goes

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended and is beginning to make a name for it's self on the Island, it is located on a hillside as the name suggests just outside the town centre.
When we arrived we were met from the car park and shown into the hotel to basically have the run of the downstairs enabling us to browse the contemporary art and the grounds, the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed without being too informal.
The restaurant was laid out in such away a view out of the window is possible from pretty any of the tables.
I had the starter of Isle of Wight rabbit terrine which was very pleasant and beautifully balanced with the Melba toast and chutney, my wife had the grilled goats cheese which worked well with accompanying pear, walnuts and dressing.
The main course was the lamb rump was to be honest a little disappointing as it was over cooked and as with all the courses lacked finesse you would expect for a £28 pp meal. My wife had the poached haddock, which while was very tasty, however it felt more like top-end pub food rather than a fine dining experience.
The dessert for both of us was apple and rhubarb tart tatin, which provided a very pleasant end to the meal.
We finished the evening by having coffee in one of the rooms while looking through coffee table books.
In summary I totally enjoyed the Hillside experience however the food needs some work to compete with the likes of the Hamborough which is also in Ventnor. I will be back however I would be very disappointed if the food hasn't improved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special Meal”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I wanted to take my partner for a meal to celebrate her birthday and as the Hillside was the only one of the better restaurants on the Island that we hadn't visited I thought that we should give it a try. We weren't disappointed! Every course was perfection and we were made to feel very special. After our meal we took our coffee in the conservatory looking out over the rooftops of Ventnor to the Channel, watching ships pass in the night. The owner brought our coffee and we had a very pleasant conversation with him and finished the evening with a complimentary glass of port each. We both agreed that it was the best meal that we've had on the Island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank treecarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was the last night of our honeymoon so we wanted somewhere nice. FrOm the moment we tried we were treated like royalty. Beautiful garden to sit I and lovely minimalist decor in the lovely house. Food was fabulous. Home cooked rolls with a tomato and red pepper soup. I had the salmon which was delicious and my husband had the ham hock. Only one siTting an eve but it worked beautifully and the whole evening felt very special.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank classicalbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside Restaurant also viewed

 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Hillside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing