We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Mount Guest House
Ranked #6 of 16 Ventnor B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Victoria mount in Oct for 3 nts.. I must point out that this b+b was not our first choice as our previous booking elsewhere had to be cancelled. Would not have been my first choice.. The room was a nice size with a balcony, which was nice but did only look out onto the Ventnor one way system. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
Unfortunately i broke the patio door key by putting it into the front door and turning it. It turned very easily, but found half the key in the lock and half in my hand. We knocked on the door and Mark and Stella were there to let us in. Luckily the half key came out of the lock.. "Well that's a first" Mark said. I didn't mention that the lighting could have been better outside, and retired to our room, not knowing at this time that it was actually the patio door key and not the front door key that i had broken. Mark confronted me in the morning, telling me that it was in fact the patio door key, and not the front door key that i had broken. Through gritted teeth he said "You must have forced it really hard and it's going to cause me a major problem" I apologized again and sat down for my breakfast.. It wasn't actually true when Mark said "Well that,s a first" because another review says that they broke a patio door key in a patio door. The reason is Mark, that those keys are made of a softer metal. Anyway back to the review.
I thinks it's overpriced because of the very small shower/toilet with no bath, and the absence of
parking outside.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhorlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in the Isle of Wight and I can't rave enough about what a wonderful time we had. The reason for the trip was to attend a wedding and what a fantastic location it was too. The island is beautiful, a mix of rolling hills and countryside rising above gorgeous cliffs and coastline and sparkling blue sea. And although we didn't get to see the entire island to compare with other towns, Ventnor has to be a must-see village, it really is a picture postcard.

And Victoria Mount Guest House? Again, I can't rave about it enough. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming and helpful with their local knowledge, but at no time did it overflow into being intrusive. They tell you everything you need to know and then leave you to enjoy your break.

Our room was beautiful. Large, with all the conveniences you might need, soft, deep pile carpet and the most comfortable bed I've slept in away from home - a real treat. And if you can drag yourself out of bed in the morning to open the curtains, you then step out onto a roomy balcony to be greeted with stunning views over the roof tops of Ventnor towards the sea and in the other direction towards beautiful hills. And if you can drag yourself away from the view and down to breakfast, you'll be provided with delicious and plentiful food tailored to your desire.

If all B&Bs were run like this, we wouldn't need TripAdvisor!
Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back next year, I'm pretty sure of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a four night break at the Victoria Mount and it was a wonderful experience.
Mark and Stella are truly great hosts. Worth the extra to book the Kingsize rooms wit balcony for fantastic views over the town, country side and sea views. Clean towels supplied every day and change of bed linen every other day. Mark does a mean breakfast that will fill you up for the day.
We will definitly return at some point. Thanks Mark and Stella we had a wonderful 4 days.

Room Tip: Only four rooms to choose from but the two Kingsize with the balcony are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanB_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Victoria Mount Guest House is situated in a lovely old building right in the heart of Ventnor (near all local amenities). Our room was spotlessly clean, really well equipped and had a lovely high ceiling and large window. The bed was also extremely comfortable and we both liked the rain-style shower. My husband was also very enthusiastic about the generous and high quality breakfast (unfortunately I had other commitments so I missed out on that).

Nice touches included fresh milk in the in-room fridge and a very pretty balcony at the front of the house where guests can sit and relax. However, the highlight was definitely the warm, and welcoming reception from the owners. Both made us feel relaxed and at home and took an interest in our trip, offering local information and considerate hospitality throughout our stay.

Definitely deserving of its high-rating and enthusiastically recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The landlady and her partner are fabulous hosts - we were made very welcome on arrival. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The memory foam bed was outstanding and the en suite shower room perfect for our stay. Breakfast was very generous and relaxed. All in all a great place to stay very good value for the quality and service. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbygeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Victoria Mount. We chose one of the rooms with the balcony which gave you views across town and the adjoining countryside. Yes, the weather was great so that gave us the opportunity to sit and chill out and use the balcony. The room and bathroom were both spacious, comfortable and well equipped and our hosts were very helpful. Breakfasts were one of the best we have had at similar accommodation and set you up well for the day. The Victoria Mount is also very handy for the town centre and only a few minutesdown to the beach

Room Tip: Go with the balcony, it just adds that little bit extra to the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff and Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,unitedkingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay.very high standards and top quality accommodation.this being our 2nd time back because we thoroughly enjoyed last year and mark and Stella are excellent hosts.we would definitely go back..

Room Tip: Very high standard accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#8 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Mount Guest House

Property: Victoria Mount Guest House
Address: Victoria Mount Victoria Street, Ventnor PO38 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Mount Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Mount Guest House Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing