We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for Shanklin & the rest of the Island...”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge area looking out bi fold doors to garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area looking out bi fold doors to garden
Lounge area looking into dining area The Ivy Apartments, Apartment A Clarence House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge area looking out bi fold doors to garden
Lounge area looking into dining area
The Ivy Apartments, Apartment A Clarence House
Dining Area
Patio
Lounge area out to al fresco dining area
Lounge into Dining Room
King size Bed plenty of room for either cot or additional single, even both.
Dining Area
The Patio Area
Bathroom, bath and shower
Shanklin Theatre
Shanklin Beachhuts
Aandown Along to Shanklin
The Crossings
Family Cycling
The Steam Train
Along the Prom
Road Cycling
The Chine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NevilleGe...
George RSA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great base for Shanklin & the rest of the Island via the buses.”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived at West Cowes after a two week Med cruise & took the bus to Shanklin via Newport. The house was easy to find and Marion was kind enough to accelerate her preparations for our early arrival. Inside we found a lovely basket of fruit, some scones with butter & jam & a most delectable jam/cream sponge, decorated with strawberries. There were also flowers, milk & a loaf, which lasted us all week.
The apartment was of course immaculate & had everything we needed. The hot water was amazing as it was almost instant from bath, sink or kitchen. The garden view is charming with a large Magnolia tree in the centre. A great place to sunbathe up to around 5pm on our 3 sunny days.
The bus station at the large Co-op & the train station are an easy walk away. As is the beach and the Hideaway restaurant.(We had 3 dinners there).
We bought 7 day bus passes for £24 each & they are a real bargain if you don't have a car. You can travel on any route & on the open top buses around the Island, as well as the Needles/Yarmouth Coaster.
Lots of reviews here on the accommodation & we will sign off on all the positive ones.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review, it is really useful for future guests and offers helpful advice as well as positive feedback. We loved having you stay and so glad your trip was worthwhile. Be lovely to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meneight4
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived on a Sunday and were a bit worried about shops being shut. No worries as Marion had laid on a hamper for us! The place is in a quiet residential road so we slept well. A short walk takes you to Shanklin cliff footpath and The Hideaway bar/restaurant; a short drive takes you to Shanklin Esplanade without having to go into town. There are a choice of restaurants here as well as the beach. And the town is also a short drive away with more restaurants to choose from. However if you want to eat in, the apartment has everything you need. It also looks out over a south facing garden so you get plenty of sun if you sit out on the patio. The apartment is spotlessly clean and very modern. This is good base to see all the usual sights and attractions on the IoW. Would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
What a lovely review and love you put do much details which can help people to decide if this is the place for them, which I hope they would.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again, soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely appartment”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Good location, easy walk into Shanklin and driving distance to other attractions. The appartment was light and airy with the bonus of bi-fold doors overlooking the garden. Our hosts were helpful & friendly and left some lovely treats for us on arrival.

Would definitely recommend to family and friends looking for somewhere to stay on the IOW

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and hope to see you again. Your family. will always be welcome. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M P
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Appartment has everything you need . Ideal location for walking ,cycling and touring the island. Hosts very friendly , all the little extras including the welcome hamper make it a lovely place to relax and enjoy your holiday .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so very pleased when our guest enjoy their stay and out Apartments are everything they were expecting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strussler...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of Shanklin's Best Keep Secrets”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had our second trip to these delightful apartments which are an ideal base for exploring the island, enjoying walkable blue flag beaches with crazy golf heaven as well as being a stones throw or a pleasant cliff top walk (take your pick) from the beautiful seaside towns of Sandown and Shanklin which cater for all age groups and culinary pallets (The Hideway is a must as is The Steamer Inn.... For the mainlander try the Merry Garden - rotisserie chicken delight with a wider menu to match all tastes and appetites).

The apartments are immaculately presented and can be opened up or self contained. Despite their proximity and easy access to all amenities they are nestled away in a very quiet area with plenty of free parking. Each apartment opens out to lovely gardens and alfresco dining.

The apartments can be booked as a pair (see apartment B) which is ideal for family parties with independently minded teenagers who can enjoy their own space - equally as nice for the matures too! Also great for a couple of family parties to enjoy time in apartments which can be isolated into 2 spacious and self contained units for each family unit to have their own space too.

Oh.... A great base too for a romantic week away!

Don't be put off by the one bedroom unit... It has a magnificent and very large lounge which with the sofa bed converts to a spacious bedroom in its own right. It'll easily take a travel cot too.... Wish we'd found it when ours were at that stage!

The owner's welcome hamper is not to be missed!

Happy to rate these highly and hope you enjoy them as much as we have... Looking forward to our next island escape - make sure you leave a week for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All amenities assecable ythough located in a quiet area with free parking outside
Liked least: the weather - when the sun shines though you sould wish for no more.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
I'm not sure how to respond to that except by saying Thank You. I do think that this should also be publish on the Isle of Wight tourist board website as it really encapsulates why the island and particularly Shanklin is a perfect holiday destination for everybody, young, not so young, families and friends x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
We love it when our guests enjoy their stay, sorry about the weather! We would love to see you back and try for some more sunshine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing