We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location and house”
other travelers have booked this property
The Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bay
Views from Living Room Balcony Views fro Master bedroom Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The Bay
Views from Living Room Balcony
Views fro Master bedroom Balcony
Decking Area
Kitchen Dining with Large tv
Dining area for 8
Fully Fitted Kitchen inc Dishwasher
Living Room with 55' 3D Smart TV, Bluray ,PS4,Bluetooth hi fi
Living Room leading off to the Balcony
Master Bedroom with King Bed , Ensuite shower, 42' smart TV
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Master Ensuite with huge shower
Bedroom 2 with SuperKing or 2 single beds. Ensuite shower
Bedroom 2 has Built inWardrobe, Smart TV
Ensuite for Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with Kingsize bed
Bedroom 3 with smart TV  built-in wardrobes
Bedroom 4 with Super King or 2 singles with Smart TV - Built in wardrobes
Main Bathroom with Shower and Bath
Large utility room with Washer and Dryer
Views!!!!!!
bbq area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RT338
2 reviews
“Beautiful location and house”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at the bay this April. It was a beautiful home. The view was outstanding and we could walk into shanklin with ease. All had been freshly painted and we were comfortable throughout our week. We rented the hot tub too which was beautifully warm and clean. Our little girl had great fun. Correspondence throughout booking and our stay with the owners was second to none. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review we hope to see you all again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevric
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dirty house, great location, aggressive host.”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
9
people found this review helpful

I arrived at about 5.30 pm to see the cleaners trying to clean up the house, after it was found to still have the previous bookers rubbish left in the kitchen bins and rubbish still uncollected in the rubbish bins outside. When the cleaners left we still had crumbs under the dining table, We had to scrub the table before we could comfortably eat off it. There were soil stains on many areas of the floor, dirty finger marks on many of the door frames, bird poo on all the outside seating cushions, dirty windows and frames and a very untidy garden area. The BBQ area was filthy and the BBQ had been left in a filthy state with no canopy and a rusting rotating garden clothes device lying on the deck.The property did not appear to be the 5 star billing advertised. And when my brother mention this, he was treated with eviction by the owner Mr. Hannon, for being "rude"! Mr. Hannon obviously misconstrues constructive criticism and expressed disappointment with rudeness. but it does not stop there; the bed had seen better days and the bedlinen was tired. I wondered if it had actually been laundered. Yet when I invited him to come see for himself, he claimed he was too busy - for the entire week! One bedroom had a TV that did not work. The master bedroom lacked a comfortable reading chair and a dressing table. There was the remnant of human hair imbedded in the carpet and the chairs on the balcony were dirty with bird poo splattered all over them. The master suite balcony glass was in need of a clean. The en suite bathroom is too small, with no shelving and no where to place one's toiletries. The sink is too small to shave in. Mr. Hannon states clearly in his advertising, that the house is suitable for those aspiring 5 star luxury in a holiday rental. This is just not so, not in regard to this property. It is true however that it is in a great location, but far better care and alteration is required to bring this place up to a five star standard. So all in all, this holiday rental fell short of expectations and was a big disappointment. Our party of largely middle aged people had traveled from all over the UK and Australia for a family reunion and we were all very disappointed. I would not tolerate such shabbiness and dirt in my own house, let alone in a holiday rental that we paid £1,400 for! It just is not on. The week before we had spent a week in a gorgeous holiday rental house in Normandy; that was five star! And it was spotless too. Mr. Hannon is an unprofessional aggressive host and penny pinches on cleanliness and care. He has zero people skills, unlike his much more pleasant wife Georgina. He should allow her to run the business.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic F
Bacchusmarsh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grubbyired and over rated.”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Party of 7 Adults, well travelled with a great deal of experience staying in varied, 5 star holiday accommodation.
First impression, two over flowing garbage / recycle bins at the entrance to the front door. Walking through to the garden / BBQ Area , found the BBQ in a filthy state and the gas cylinders empty.
Dining room table dirty, kitchen utensils in a poor state. Egg flipper without a handle.
No BBQ tools. Crockery had to be washed. Tea towels, only two, resembled cleaning rags.
Dinning room chair cushions stained and with crumbs on some of them.
Kitchen rangehood not working. Bedroom furniture needed cleaning. Toilet seat fixture in one master bedroom broken.
After a robust conversation with the owner, Jeremy, the answer was to pack up, get out and he would return my money.
Told me the previous week people had paid much more for the privilege of staying there.
Cleaners were sent around and we were stuck with them until some of the problems were fixed.
Asked the owner to visit, he refused, too busy. However would send the cleaners again.
Of course ridiculous, huge inconvenience. Offered to refund again.
7 people, some, from the other side of the world hardly likely to find other accommodation last minute.
Owner most offended that I suggested that the property, as it was, did not equal 5 ***** standard.
I notice a similar review Jan. 17.
Overall, despite the great location, a most disappointing experience.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
We would like to respond to this review by saying that this customer was perhaps the most rudest and aggressive customer we have ever had in all of our properties.
We have over 60 5 star reviews.
Please don't be concerned over this review.
All his complaints were dealt with within a few hours.
We value our staff and won't allow any of them be spoken to like that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thank you so much for writing a review. We would love to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orchardlo...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Carlesberg did holiday homes....”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful home, everything one needed with views to die for. Stayed last week, a beautiful week but very cold yet the house was lovely and warm. Watching the sunrise over the channel each morning was a joy. I had tea and toast on the balcony even though it was only 2 degrees but it had to be done. The bed was sooo comfortable and each bedroom had a large television. Sitting room on the first floor with large balcony again with marvellous views and outside furniture. Had a hot tub on the ground floor patio which looked so inviting outside the well appointed and well equipped kitchen. Will be back and would recommend it to all.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D0rrett
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This a truly lovely home, a wonderful place to have a relaxing holiday with incredible sea views! Well located for nearby amenities. Perfect for either families or a group of friends to stay somewhere luxurious. Lots of touches - en suite bedrooms, beautiful well equipped kitchen with everything needed. A gem in Shanklin. Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
thank you so much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing