We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house”
other travelers have booked this property
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Front of Marine Villa, The Art Deco House The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Marine Villa, the Art Deco House on the Isle of Wight
Front of Marine Villa, The Art Deco House
The Master Bedroom
The Dining Room
Dining room, with SONOS wifi hidden in the antique radios!
Bedroom 4, sleeps 3 and with an en-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 4 one of 5 modern bathrooms at Marine Villa
Bedroom 5, the cozy room with dual aspect views
Bedroom 5
The Accessible bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Private wheelchair access if needed
Sunrise from the Master Bedroom
The Upstairs Landing, joining all the upstairs bedrooms
We can even provide a cake that looks like the house for that special occasion
Sunroom
View of  the garden from the upstairs sun room
View from the Garden Room
The drawing room
The kitchen
The Morning Room, which can also be used as a bedroom with 2 single beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janegrove
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from an amazing stay at the wonderful Marine Villa. The house is beautifully furnished and spacious enough to comfortably accommodate large groups of all ages. We were welcomed by lovely Lizzie, who couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect, even organising a wheel chair for one member of our group. Despite our concerns, the house was very child friendly (especially once we moved a few ornaments out of the reach of our toddler) and the children loved the games provided and the large garden. Located on the cliff top above some of the best beaches on the island, Marine Villa makes a perfect base from which to the explore the island. We can't wait to return and enjoy breakfast on the patio once more.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Hi Jane, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that you found Marine Villa, the Art Deco House child friendly! We all try really hard to make Marine Villa perfect for family groups! We really appreciate your business, Marine Villa is a labour of love for us, and we love sharing our home with nice people! Thanks and please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velwell12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning - It's all in the detail.”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we walked into the house we felt at home. 5 star comfort and really relaxing. The house was exceptional, very very clean with luxurious touches everywhere; gorgous bed linen super comfy beds, soft towels, starched table napins and the best power showers ever!
We were a party of 11 adults and 9 children yet there was room for us all - huge dining room, a kitchen which had everything and more to cater for large parties .. The 2 dishwashers were a god send.

A wonderfully chilled house for family and friends to get together. Thank you for our splendid welcome pack.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed Marine Villa, the Art Deco House so much, but the thing that means the most to us was 'we felt at home', and that is the best thing you can tell us! We just had our 5 Star VisitEngland and Gold Standard renewed, and our ongoing upgrades will just keep happening. Please come back sometime! Laurence and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola S
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Art Deco House”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a fabulous stay at Marine Villa on the Isle of Wight. This beautiful Art Deco inspired home is furnished to a VERY high standard.
We were on holiday with extended family and friends and found it to be spotlessly clean with fresh linen and very comfortable beds. We were lucky with the weather which meant we could take full advantage of the extensive outdoor space and double width barbecue.
The house is in a perfect location with stunning views to both Sandown and Shanklin and only a short walk to the beach.
I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday home and hope to return as soon as family schedules allow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous attention to detail throughout the house.
Liked least: Leaving !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed yourself. We hope to welcome you back in the future, as our business model is we spend every single penny of our business back on the house, upgrading it continuously!! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musicalso...
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful house fit for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Had an absolutely fantastic time at Marine Villa - comfortably accommodated 14 of us for the weekend. Furnishings, fittings, the house and the grounds are of a very high standard, and contains absolutely everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Right by the coast overlooking the sea - I'd highly recommend renting this house for a special occasion!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
So pleased you had a fantastic time, and thanks for leaving a review! We have great plans to to lots of work over the 12 months and continue taking the house back in time, so please come back and visit us again next year! All the best from Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0587katie
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Marine Villa for the last weekend of April 2016 and it was amazing!
The house is stunning and the views (particularly from the master bedroom) are just breath-taking
The house is comfortable, spacious and very well equipped and Laurence (the owner) and Sara (the house manager) could not have been more helpful
Thank you all so much for a fantastic holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thanks so much Katie, we are delighted you enjoyed renting our home! We'd love to welcome you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnpearc...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marine Villa (aka Art Deco House)”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Marine Villa (aka the Art Deco House) over the New Year period and were delighted with our stay. From first arrival it was obvious that this is a delightful (large) family house with very easy access to the cliff top and beaches. We were a group of family and friends with all ages from 18 months to 70 years, (i.e. 2 under four; 3 teenagers, 5 twenty/thirty year olds as well at the over forties).

My concern before the trip was that the house would be almost too perfect and young hands might lead to breakage with parents always on tenterhooks. However on arrival I was completely relaxed. It felt like a home not a museum, and yet still retained all the character of an Agatha Christie novel.

As it was new year and the weather was variable we spent a lot of time in the house, mainly in the dining and living rooms, which never once felt cramped.
On top of the fabulous house I particularly like the extra touches, (e.g. Christmas card; ‘free’ hamper and postcards). My wife and I were also able to enjoy a sun rise and view the moon (and ships) from a suitably period telescope.
The whole group all agreed this was an excellent choice for any break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A step back in time with modern luxuries
Liked least: The weather could have been better but was New Year
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
John, we are delighted you felt at home at Marine Villa, and that your New Year Celebrations went so well. The house is not just a business, but it actually is a home and one day will be our family home! Most people that stay bring multiple generations, it really does work across all year groups. We just got a 'GOLD' rating on top of our 5 stars from the English Tourist Board "VisitEng" for exceptional customer service...but your kind words from having stayed at Marine Villa mean so much to us! Thanks and have a wonderful 2016!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very special house, perfect for a group celebration”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

When I was looking for somewhere to have my sixtieth birthday celebration, I came across this house, and from the description seemed perfect, but just too good to be true. But I can now say that not only did it live up to expectations, but amazingly exceeded them. The setting is stunning, in beautiful grounds on the the clifftop, but it is the house itself that is the star. Big light and airy rooms, with wonderful furnishings and fittings and decor, all in keeping with the Art Deco theme, made you feel you had stepped back into a bygone age. It felt a real privilege to be staying there, and trusted with this amazing place.
The big dining room was a perfect setting for my birthday dinner, and the kitchen had everything you could possibly want to prepare and serve the meal.
The owner was very helpful and responsive, and on his recommendation we had food for the meal supplied by Deli Tramezzini, which was great, and a cake from Wight Vintage, which was also wonderful.
So it was very memorable weekend for us all, topped off by the lovely warm and sunny weather the whole time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the house, the decor, the setting, making a unique experience
Liked least: Could not find anything to fault, really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Ian, thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated, we are delighted you enjoyed staying at Marine Villa. We do hope you will come back next year. You may be interested to know that this week, VISIT ENGLAND, the English Tourist Board awarded us a GOLD STANDARD on top of our 5 star rating!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing